Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 09:09 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default PPD considerably lower.

So I've noticed over the last few days that my PPD on both of my folding machines has dropped noticeably.

My primary machine is listed under 'my system specs'. I'm not able to check what work units are being worked on at the moment on that machine.

My secondary machine is running an Intel Xeon W3520 @ 2.67GHz. It's currently working on WU P7507 (R0, C90, G93). TPF is about 27min, and PPD is 1369.3. A few days ago I was getting about 7000-8000 PPD out of this machine. What gives?

Quote:
[16:51:31] + Processing work unit
[16:51:31] Core required: FahCore_a3.exe
[16:51:31] Core found.
[16:51:31] Working on queue slot 04 [January 12 16:51:31 UTC]
[16:51:31] + Working ...
[16:51:31]
[16:51:31] *------------------------------*
[16:51:31] Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
[16:51:31] Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
[16:51:31]
[16:51:31] Preparing to commence simulation
[16:51:31] - Looking at optimizations...
[16:51:31] - Created dyn
[16:51:31] - Files status OK
[16:51:32] - Expanded 2167243 -> 3127236 (decompressed 144.2 percent)
[16:51:32] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=2167243 data_size=3127236, decompressed_data_size=3127236 diff=0
[16:51:32] - Digital signature verified
[16:51:32]
[16:51:32] Project: 7507 (Run 0, Clone 90, Gen 93)
[16:51:32]
[16:51:32] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[16:51:32] Entering M.D.
[16:51:38] Mapping NT from 4 to 4
[16:51:38] Completed 0 out of 500000 steps (0%)
[17:06:10] Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps (1%)
[17:27:05] Completed 10000 out of 500000 steps (2%)
[18:13:44] Completed 15000 out of 500000 steps (3%)
[18:59:51] Completed 20000 out of 500000 steps (4%)
[19:46:08] Completed 25000 out of 500000 steps (5%)
[20:33:04] Completed 30000 out of 500000 steps (6%)
[21:13:22] Completed 35000 out of 500000 steps (7%)
[21:27:13] Completed 40000 out of 500000 steps (8%)
[22:01:05] Completed 45000 out of 500000 steps (9%)
[22:34:30] Completed 50000 out of 500000 steps (10%)
[23:23:06] Completed 55000 out of 500000 steps (11%)
[23:53:31] Completed 60000 out of 500000 steps (12%)
[00:14:54] Completed 65000 out of 500000 steps (13%)
[00:39:55] Completed 70000 out of 500000 steps (14%)
[00:53:07] Completed 75000 out of 500000 steps (15%)
[01:24:22] Completed 80000 out of 500000 steps (16%)
[02:07:16] Completed 85000 out of 500000 steps (17%)
[02:34:16] Completed 90000 out of 500000 steps (18%)
[02:47:28] Completed 95000 out of 500000 steps (19%)
[03:00:59] Completed 100000 out of 500000 steps (20%)
[03:14:16] Completed 105000 out of 500000 steps (21%)
[03:27:32] Completed 110000 out of 500000 steps (22%)
[03:42:07] Completed 115000 out of 500000 steps (23%)
[04:13:10] Completed 120000 out of 500000 steps (24%)
[04:32:10] Completed 125000 out of 500000 steps (25%)
[04:45:23] Completed 130000 out of 500000 steps (26%)
[04:59:05] Completed 135000 out of 500000 steps (27%)
[05:12:18] Completed 140000 out of 500000 steps (28%)
[05:25:30] Completed 145000 out of 500000 steps (29%)
[05:40:08] Completed 150000 out of 500000 steps (30%)
[06:26:00] Completed 155000 out of 500000 steps (31%)
[06:46:11] Completed 160000 out of 500000 steps (32%)
[07:00:03] Completed 165000 out of 500000 steps (33%)
[07:13:17] Completed 170000 out of 500000 steps (34%)
[07:26:29] Completed 175000 out of 500000 steps (35%)
[07:40:02] Completed 180000 out of 500000 steps (36%)
[07:53:19] Completed 185000 out of 500000 steps (37%)
[08:07:04] Completed 190000 out of 500000 steps (38%)
[08:26:49] Completed 195000 out of 500000 steps (39%)
[08:57:24] Completed 200000 out of 500000 steps (40%)
[09:37:33] Completed 205000 out of 500000 steps (41%)
[10:17:57] Completed 210000 out of 500000 steps (42%)
[10:45:01] Completed 215000 out of 500000 steps (43%)
[11:30:18] Completed 220000 out of 500000 steps (44%)
[12:14:54] Completed 225000 out of 500000 steps (45%)
[13:00:05] Completed 230000 out of 500000 steps (46%)
[13:45:40] Completed 235000 out of 500000 steps (47%)
[14:26:42] Completed 240000 out of 500000 steps (48%)
[14:51:32] Completed 245000 out of 500000 steps (49%)
[15:33:54] Completed 250000 out of 500000 steps (50%)
[15:48:11] Completed 255000 out of 500000 steps (51%)
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 09:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

4 core smp right?

We had a pile of really short SMP units (were something like 88 points pre-bonus) for 2 - 3 days, those probably affected PPD (mine seems to be down aprox 5K total).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 11:05 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

have you tried stopping and restarting the client? I don't see anything in the log that indicates a problem.
I did have an issue the other day where the affinity was set to only 2 cores on my machine (little mistake on my part) and I couldn't figure it out. fixed that and my times dropped.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 12:50 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
4 core smp right?

We had a pile of really short SMP units (were something like 88 points pre-bonus) for 2 - 3 days, those probably affected PPD (mine seems to be down aprox 5K total).

Yes, 4 core smp. It's not running them any faster though. Is this normal?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 12:55 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim_H View Post
have you tried stopping and restarting the client? I don't see anything in the log that indicates a problem.
I did have an issue the other day where the affinity was set to only 2 cores on my machine (little mistake on my part) and I couldn't figure it out. fixed that and my times dropped.
I check that under my client config, right? what should i look for?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 01:47 PM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

no it's setting under windows task manager. you can right click on a process and set the 'Affinity' to limit the process to specific cores. if you haven't changed this in the past it's likely not the issue.

What are the temperatures of the system. could be CPU throttling.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 02:28 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

I have used a program called Prifinity to keep my linux vm clients in a high priority state in the past:
PriFinitty 2 - Edgemeal Software

You could try running it, and making sure the core process is in high priority.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 03:22 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim_H View Post
no it's setting under windows task manager. you can right click on a process and set the 'Affinity' to limit the process to specific cores. if you haven't changed this in the past it's likely not the issue.

What are the temperatures of the system. could be CPU throttling.
Thanks. Checked it (didn't know you could do that...learn something new every day) and the affinity limits are just fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk
I have used a program called Prifinity to keep my linux vm clients in a high priority state in the past:
PriFinitty 2 - Edgemeal Software
You could try running it, and making sure the core process is in high priority.
Again, thanks. I'll let it run over the weekend and see if it rectifies itself.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 03:35 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

If your affinities are fine when you checked manually I doubt Prifinity will do a whole lot. Still worth a try anyways and report back.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What PSU for about $170 or lower ipaine Power Supplies 6 March 7, 2011 08:32 PM
Are these temperatures ok? what can I do to lower them? mtrpcic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 October 19, 2009 12:53 PM
Are these temperatures ok? what can I do to lower them? mtrpcic Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 October 19, 2009 11:38 AM
Where in the GVR / Lower Mainland Can i buy these? chouchou Off Topic 1 July 1, 2009 09:53 PM
Help lower gas prices! Salavat23 Off Topic 18 April 19, 2008 06:11 PM