Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 06:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default i2500k PPD too low

I am only getting 2000PPD on P7504 project?

I2500k O/C @ 4200 @ 100% core load on all 4 cores.

Is this too low?

Hell my 6950 is getting like 4165ppd
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 06:36 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Have you successfully completed 10 smp units in order to qualify for bonus points? How many frames (%) have you completed? You need at least 3 to get an accurate measure of PPD.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 07:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

Hmm i think i may have figured it out. Since i am trying to fold with GPU and SMP and i have ATI card this isnt good. Correct me if my research is wrong. ATI card take alot of CPU as well and its basically 1 or the other, not both at same time?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 08:09 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

yeah, ATI isn't optimized for folding, it's better just to run CPU.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 08:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the confirmation on my research. I guess my next goal is to make a dedicated folding box.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 09:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I average 16k PPD at 4.2GHz on my i5 2500K, but I'm folding within a Linux VM running on Hyper-V (very odd combination to say the least).

I would say just scrap the GPU folding. The PPD it gives really isn't worth the power consumption IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 09:30 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

I also read that you're using FahSpy to monitor your ppd and it doesn't always calculate bonus points properly. Download HFM.net or FahMon(sometimes over projects ppd) they are much better than FahSpy. Just for comparison I'm running SMP on 2 cores(leaves one core for GPU folding and 1 core for everything else) on my phenom II x4 955 at 3.6Ghz and I'm getting around 2.5k ppd depending on the project running 24/7.



Quote:
Originally Posted by r3v07ut10n View Post
just to make sure i am running this correctly, as i think my cpu isnt working properly.
i am running gpu2 and smp with the setups that i have followed here.
GPU is working and all 4 cores are 100%.

I am using fahspy to monitor. 6970 is showing 3580 PPD is this about right? and i2500k is showing 0.. but running @ 100%... something doesnt seem correct.

Capture.jpg picture by pschma - Photobucket
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2012, 12:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r3v07ut10n View Post
Hell my 6950 is getting like 4165ppd
That is less than the average of my GT240! If you want GPU folding, you need to go nVidia. And the GX2 is doing at least 10k PPD, for the price it costs today is worth. You want to build a dedicated folding box as in for SMP or bigadv? A bigadv machine will cost you at least 900$, assuming you go with a refurb SR2 and a pair of xeons L5530 and some ram on the side
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2012, 05:03 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
A bigadv machine will cost you at least 900$, assuming you go with a refurb SR2 and a pair of xeons L5530 and some ram on the side

Pfft, or just buy my SR2 in the BST thread with dual 5645's, case, power supply, ram, everything there for $1400.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2012, 07:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 63

My System Specs

Default

I was thinking about just upgrading to a 2600k or 2700k, and moving my 2500k to another pc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes