Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 10:53 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default holey crap the heat produced lol

last night my room ( which is my Bedroom + folding box ) was so hot I looked at the temperature of my folder and the one cpu ( which I jury rigged a Coolermaster Hyper 212 thanks to hardforums for the idea) and for some reason last night the temperatures of that cpu where fastly aproaching mid 60s I took one of my summer fans and placed it next to the case ( which has no covers at all on it) turn the fan on its highest setting just to bring the temperature down to the high 40s. On the other side of things the NH-U9DO A3 never went past 49 C . I have know idea why it got so hot but man , the other NH-U9DO A3 better get here fast or I am not going to be folding with both cpus activated.
Today the temperature of that cpu is in the mid to semi high 40s there is always a 10 degree difference between the two cpus.
I installed the fans on both cpus I had them blowing away from each other in homes that they would stay fairly cool.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 11:22 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,918
Default

place on your MB on window sill outside with this cool weather were having, an keep cool for the partner
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 12:17 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

I was thinking the same but then I don't have any Internet cables to reach it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 12:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,355

My System Specs

Default

good lord how can you stand it?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 12:55 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 850

My System Specs

Default

to help getting loweest temp for my board and CPU (my Ex Dual Opteron) , i have install my board on 2 ceramic plate in the basement.
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 02:25 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

I run my rigs in the cold parts of my house.Helps out with the heating bill.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 03:46 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
to help getting loweest temp for my board and CPU (my Ex Dual Opteron) , i have install my board on 2 ceramic plate in the basement.
hahaha I wish I could do that.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 04:03 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
I run my rigs in the cold parts of my house.Helps out with the heating bill.

Ditto, also powerline ethernet works well for those remote locations.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 07:33 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

I leave my window partially open and my door closed since I only rent and don't have the thermostat in my room it works out pretty well. Last night when I was at work I left my window open all the way, came home and my main was only at 18C 100% CPU load. Although I had to keep my coat on for a couple hours while my comps heated my room back up.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 08:15 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,302

My System Specs

Default

I just find it so strange that last night the temperatures went up so high right now the one cpu is a steady 35 and the other is 42 when last night and this is like this without my summer fans and my rooms windows wide open .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware Canucks Fan Grills Now Available - Produced By MNPCTECH FiXT Hardware Canucks Store 142 June 13, 2014 04:38 AM
Couple of movies i filmed, edited and produced nige Off Topic 1 January 11, 2011 10:05 AM
HST crap technix Off Topic 50 July 2, 2010 07:30 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 05:37 PM
For crap sake Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 4, 2007 09:55 AM