Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 11:51 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 857

My System Specs

Default Anyone ready for this CPU and fold

Damn ... im sure that can be great folding with that. I Just can't image a 2P or 4P WOW


Intel XEON E7-8860 ES LGA1567 10-Core 2.26GHz 24MB Processor | eBay
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch

Last edited by Alpine; December 29, 2011 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 12:12 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Wow! 20 threads.

Anyone know off the top of their heads how many cores are supported max for folding?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 12:23 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

24 IIRC
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 01:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

64 cores become a pain to deal with. Better to run dual Clients with a '-bigadv -32 flag'.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 02:35 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
Damn ... im sure that can be great folding with that. I Just can't image a 2P or 4P WOW


Intel XEON E7-8860 ES LGA1567 10-Core 2.26GHz 24MB Processor | eBay
DT has like 4 of those puppy's I believe... I think he's still waiting for heatsinks that will fit.
Will be very interesting indeed once the beast comes to life...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 03:08 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
DT has like 4 of those puppy's I believe... I think he's still waiting for heatsinks that will fit.
Will be very interesting indeed once the beast comes to life...
I wonder if he's using a 4p board for those chips, or just 2p? can't wait to see pics of his setup regardless. hope he shares. Assuming one ran 2p, -bigadv -40 or a client for each chip? Very cool.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 03:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

I believe this is the board he has on-hand:



Super Micro Computer, Inc. - Products | Motherboards | Xeon Boards | X8QBE-F
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; December 29, 2011 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 03:19 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Cool. I can see now that only a special heat sink would be compatible.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 04:00 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
I wonder if he's using a 4p board for those chips, or just 2p? can't wait to see pics of his setup regardless. hope he shares. Assuming one ran 2p, -bigadv -40 or a client for each chip? Very cool.
There's some early info on the build in this thread:

[PROJECT]: I ain't gonna work on DT's farm no more
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2011, 08:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,466

My System Specs

Default

that board alone is 2000$. factor in the RAM and 4 CPUs like that and is a 20K $ system, the price of a new small car.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which would fold better? TheGrapist Video Cards 1 September 19, 2010 09:53 PM
Can't get my ati to fold.. EaGle1337 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 May 5, 2010 09:41 AM
Using CPU to fold BrokenHalo83 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 19, 2009 10:42 PM
Why Fold? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 November 19, 2008 07:25 PM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 05:02 PM