Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 05:12 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default Folding stats not working..

Well, stats haven't been updating on the servers. I sent two bigadv workunits on Sunday + lots of other ones on my other folding name, and still nothin'.

info here: Folding Forum • View topic - Stanford Network Issue

Boo.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 05:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,223

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, they've been down for over 24 hrs. Started with a lack of "chilled water".....
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 05:20 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Stanfors experiencing network issues:
Folding@home: Network issue at Stanford

Lots of various threads on FF of folks mentioning stats issues, WUs not available, uploading, no stats at all, etc.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 05:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

I don't get it, they cool their servers with chilled water, or what? I don't see the connection... And the units done in the meantime are lost, or they will be reported later? Because it says that Sunday I did only 1646 PPD and I usually do at least 20k PPD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 06:55 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

I guess it is fixed and backlogged a bit, I did have a 5 day crunch time bigadv wu finished up in time for the outage, hope it isnt a base point effort.
"Out of chilled water"...a foreign concept.
Whats it cost to send the servers North for the winter anyways?
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 06:56 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, i'm guessing Stanford uses either geothermal or something like that to cool their server room(s).

I don't know about the workunits which have been submitted since Saturday night - we're all waiting to see the outcome. And I hope the bonus calculations don't go all wonky because of this.. bigadv units pretty much rely on the bonus to be worthwhile. Hopefully at least the science is useful / meaningful when this is all said and done, and not a waste of a few days of peoples folding efforts.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 07:33 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Team output @ 1.9 mil.......
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 09:15 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 215
Default

like you said Rison, Chilled water is likely being used for the AC system. it can be chilled by different methods, ie. cooling tower, heat exchanger, geothermal... as far as being out, that could easily be a pipe break or equipment failure.

Hopefully there aren't any lost wu's as a result of the outage.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 11:47 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

I let the units finished on the GPUs and I paused them, only the SMP is still working. I won't restart them till the issue is finished
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 12:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

The advice I see on FF is that credit will still be given, so I would continue as normal. That said, I certainly am not in a position to guarantee anything, and I have not seen anything official from Pande on it...its just the recommendation from folks folding for a while.

I do recall a similar outage in the past, where all of a sudden folks had massive points credits to make it. I don't recall it being this long, so the backlog must be enormous.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding Stats Not Updating Since Passcode added whited HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 May 4, 2010 04:16 PM
Is my folding working? Polygon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 11 November 4, 2009 03:35 PM
March 7th Folding stats??? CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 March 7, 2009 09:30 PM
Check your F@H stats... 4DoorGTZ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 12, 2009 04:29 PM
New Stats Hack Gav Suggestions & Feedback 4 January 17, 2007 11:32 AM