Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 09:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default folding with 6970?

I'm folding for Braineater as helped me out so I'm returning the favour. I don't know which video card app i'm supposed to use for my video card. After reading some other forums it looks like it doesn't work? Thanks for any help. Cheers.

It's all just so confusing.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 03:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

if you want too GPU folding use nVidia. much more productive than AMD.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 03:24 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Hey hades...try the v7 of the client:
Folding@home - WinGuide

I actually don't use this but I do believe that it should work for AMD cards.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 11:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

I'm not folding for me so I don't care that much TBH. The person I'm folding for suggested it might not be worth it with the ATI card. I'll just stick with the SMP client I setup from the stickies and see how it goes I gues.

Thanks for posting ne way!

And I like ATI cards ffs why would I want a bloody Nvidia card! :P
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 01:58 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi Chris,

Looks like all of the download sites for V7 are down.
I went on internet and tried all sites, but no go
Not sure why, perhaps the beta was not ready and are working on second beta release?

I am very interested in giving it a go tho.

Take care......
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 08:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

yes, up from generation 5, the V7 is the folding client for ATI/AMD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 12:10 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lechumbl View Post
Hi Chris,

Looks like all of the download sites for V7 are down.
I went on internet and tried all sites, but no go
Not sure why, perhaps the beta was not ready and are working on second beta release?

I am very interested in giving it a go tho.

Take care......
I believe its related to the network issues at Pande. From looking quickly at the FF, ALL the download links where broken at one point over the past several days.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 12:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,497

My System Specs

Default

Folks wishing to use ATI cards for DC would probably be better off having a look at boinc. It's been a while since I played with it (I think I might still be the owner of the HWC boinc team.... ;) ), but it was much better optimised for ATI hardware.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2011, 12:31 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi Chris,

Thanx for the update.

Take care...........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6970 vs 570 vs 580? Razgrtz Video Cards 11 December 9, 2011 07:42 PM
[WTB] 6970 REV 1.0 Levesque Buy/Sell & Trade 0 September 19, 2011 07:27 AM
[WTB] GTX 580 / ATI 6970 Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 5 September 3, 2011 11:05 AM
[WTB] HD 6970, GTX 580 or GTX 480 Efx Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 19, 2011 12:56 PM
AMD 6970 Vs GTX 570 Chris65478 Video Cards 6 June 24, 2011 03:22 PM