Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2011, 08:22 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default Folding on Hyper-V

Has anybody done it? I installed this image: Folding@Home - Native Folding Image - LinuxForge.net onto a Hyper-V VM with 4 cores, 2GB of RAM.

Underlying hardware is:
i5 2500K - 42x multiplier, but otherwise "stock" settings. That means it only runs 4.2GHz when under load.
16GB DDR3-1333

Hyper-V Manager shows 90-95% CPU usage, but on the host (via task manager) CPU usage is basically 0%. F@H logs show that it's doing work though. Apparently task manager doesn't monitor the Hyper-V service.

It would appear as though it is working:



Now, what's the most ideal settings to enter in the web config? I attached what I'm currently using, but it was just mainly guesses
Attached Images
 

Last edited by JD; November 24, 2011 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2011, 05:09 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

It's always been the issue with Hyper-V, loading the cores properly. This was never fixed. Why are you using Hyper-V? The VMware image works fine too (use VMPlayer 3.0, and only 3.0) for 100% CPU usage... and your web settings look fine. I'd try enabling Langouste, if it works properly (allows to receive / being folding a new WU while a completed WU is sent).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2011, 07:35 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

Using Hyper-V since that's what I have on my home server, and I have a bunch of "development" servers running within it. Basically it's just my playground

Figured I'd run FAH in it as well (for the winter months), but it has the lowest priority for RAM/CPU. I'm not out to produce crazy PPD numbers or setup dedicated folding farms like some of you guys, just to provide some contribution to the team! Obviously I don't want to run it directly on the host either since that would severely impact performance.

Wonder if running a Server 2008 Core Edition would be better? It would at least integrate with Hyper-V properly, lacks a GUI (so less overhead) and I'd assume it could run FAH command-line mode. But from what I gather, folding on Windows isn't the most ideal.

It is definitely using the CPU though, as it's running at 4.2GHz. If it was truly idle (as the host OS is showing), then it would be running much slower.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2011, 09:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

Well finished 2 WU's now, seem to be getting around 16.5k PPD. GRO-A3 units, P6972. Good/bad?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 08:12 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I have no idea! Been a while since I folded SMP WUs. Maybe others can chime in.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 08:26 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,628

My System Specs

Default

very good actually
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 11:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

On a 6973, I got 14,048 PPD at 4.5GHz, -SMP 3, on VMware. Usually around 20k ppd with 4 cores.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 07:04 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Hokay, this thread has me thinking.. if you run taskmgr in hyperv (at the bare metal) you can see all the cores, all the ram, etc.. how about running the dos command on the baremetal hyperv install? well.. to answer your question.. i'll probably be installing it on a i7 980x later this afternoon for shits and giggles! lol.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 09:32 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
Hokay, this thread has me thinking.. if you run taskmgr in hyperv (at the bare metal) you can see all the cores, all the ram, etc.. how about running the dos command on the baremetal hyperv install? well.. to answer your question.. i'll probably be installing it on a i7 980x later this afternoon for shits and giggles! lol.
Mines not a baremetal hypervisor, just running it as a role.

Anyways, I'm up around 20k PPD now, so obviously things are working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 10:53 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Well, to answer my own question, yes: it runs fine on the baremetal (free) hyperv server 2008 r2 easy enough. I have no idea what kind of performance it's running.. cause I haven't figured out how to share a directory and stuff.. in order for HFM to connect to the log files.
Now to see how the VMs hold up when the system goes to 100%, hehe.

This is just on our test servers btw.. wouldn't do this on a customers box. :)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler Master Announces Hyper TX3 EVO and Hyper 212 EVO CPU Coolers Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 September 27, 2011 05:26 PM
Corsair A50 or CM Hyper 212 Plus Modus Air Cooling 8 March 12, 2011 12:01 AM
i7-930 temps w/Hyper 212 Plus. God of Sprite CPU's and Motherboards 11 March 1, 2011 08:45 PM
Folding with Hyper-V doup93 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 December 15, 2009 06:12 PM