Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 08:14 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

JJ from Asus with the board at CES

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS dual socket upcoming Xeon mobo gets video hands-on - YouTube
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 04:36 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Supports up to 128 GB of RAM, looks like you folders should be able to fold just on your RAMDISK if you're running an UPS to prevent losing work from power outages. That should increase ppd.

14 SATA ports, finally a mobo that'll make AKG happy (for number of SATA ports)
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 06:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

should i also upgrade my ram and create a RAMDISK so i could spare my SSD, or I am ok? How large should it be for GPU+SMP?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 08:28 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
should i also upgrade my ram and create a RAMDISK so i could spare my SSD, or I am ok? How large should it be for GPU+SMP?
I don't think anyone uses a ramdisk for folding that I know of. AMD quad CPU rigs need 16 sticks of ram to run at full speed so it is necessary to have 16 or 32GB or ram installed. I have never heard of using a ramdisk on one of these systems though there is enough ram for it. Even the biggest bigadv units only write 250MB to disk at the end so it doesn't take long. There is also not a high need for random access because everything is stored in ram anyway.

If you did want to try a ramdisk you would probably be able to run one on only 8GB. The client and OS run in under 4GB of ram so that leaves room for a 4GB ramdrive where you put the program files. If you do try it see if you can record in detail how performance changes.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2012, 07:48 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

Listed on NCIX, no stock though.
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS C602 EEB Dual LGA2011 7PCI-E16 Dual Intel LAN Workstation Motherboard - ASUS - Z9PE-D8 WS
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2012, 04:43 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

Very interesting, might have to look at this when it comes out. Might delay my X79 build for that, wish there were more details.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 07:12 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Would the Xeon CPUs with 8 cores be better than the Opteron with 12 cores?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 09:01 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathus View Post
Would the Xeon CPUs with 8 cores be better than the Opteron with 12 cores?
Yes. Definitely if you can overclock. However this can only run two CPU's. But I expect a pair of 8-core's running @ 4GHz would be one hell of an SMP rig.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 12:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

Xeon E5 is out, I have seen a review on Anandtech, here AnandTech - The Xeon E5-2600: Dual Sandy Bridge for Servers
Also on Tomshardware here http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...view,3149.html
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; March 7, 2012 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2012, 02:21 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

For those still thinking about this board review on OC3D Dual Xeon Insanity

In stock now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a hand bringing cost down a little on new build Goti New Builds 22 April 29, 2010 04:44 PM
Zalman CNPS-10X Quiet Bringing The Cool For Todays Modern CPU Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 7 July 11, 2009 10:08 AM
Bringing In A Frosty New Year drnip Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 7 December 28, 2008 02:43 PM
Qimonda Bringing GDDR5 to ATI's Radeon 4000-series Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 26, 2008 07:44 PM
Rogers Bringing the iPhone to Canucks Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 2 May 5, 2008 08:51 AM