Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 05:02 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default I am surprised FAH doesn't have clusters

I just learn a tiny bit about Clusters today ( hak5 website) and so I did a bit of a search on the net, I am surprised FAH doesn't have clusters I mean Clusters that would work on one unit at a time. there most be some one out there that can write a script for this, the closest thing I found was Pelicanhtc PelicanHPC: A GNU/Linux distribution to create a HPC cluster for MPI based parallel computing


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 05:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

The F@H project is a computing cluster in itself. Pande explained your question somewhere on his blog IIRC.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 07:13 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
The F@H project is a computing cluster in itself. Pande explained your question somewhere on his blog IIRC.
I am pretty new to folding so where is the blog you mention.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2011, 07:17 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Folding@home

ilya is correct - fah is itself one giant cluster, and each client is a single node, hence the inability to scale across multiple nodes. Note - the GROMACS core does in fact support clusters, but the fah implementation of it does not owing to the method it uses for assigning work to nodes.

Look at awachs, for example - he's got a powerful supercomputer there, but instead of running one humungous bigadv client, he runs a myriad of regular SMP clients because he can not scale across multiples of his own nodes.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2011, 09:36 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

I guess that it is a cluster in a sense but each node is independent or maybe a better phrase would be " works independently from the main until completed".

I have laying around my place a q6600 on a dfi p35 lan party and a AMD 955be on a 790 board and hopefully very soon I will have my AMD 6128 CPU s so I can fire up that. is it possible for me to get all of those up and running in some sort of cluster to work on humongous bigadv client , or would I have to run 3 separate ones. I currently am running my AMD 1100 and my q6600 quad separately . I would prefer to not use my main pc to fold at all
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2011, 11:26 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

ok I just thought about all of this an I realized that it would be way to hard to setup all machines to work on one thing because of the speeds of the different machines alone would mess things up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2011, 08:54 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
ok I just thought about all of this an I realized that it would be impossible to setup all machines to work on one thing because of the speeds of the different machines alone would mess things up.
FTFY

Just think about what SMP stands for and you'll realize why clustering single work units cannot be done. Clusters work when the process requires intermittent coordination between nodes - usually at the beginning and end of specific sub-tasks. SMP processes, meanwhile, depend upon constant coordination between nodes.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] i7 920 (C0, D0, doesn't matter, don't need HSF) $125. Aix Buy/Sell & Trade 1 October 4, 2011 07:44 PM
I am surprised at the wieght of this PSU Shadowmeph Power Supplies 3 February 4, 2010 09:18 PM
Woke up to EUE, but pleasantly surprised Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 November 24, 2009 02:29 PM
will 64kb clusters give better playback then 4kb clusters? Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 9 July 29, 2009 07:51 AM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 12:58 PM