Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 10:47 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default Folding in Linux Faster?

I saw the thread about folding in linux being faster and tried it out, I'm using virtualbox + linux64-fah and my TPF is like 13:38 on regular SMP unit...it should be like 3:30ish. I'm folding on an i7 920 @ 4Ghz

whats going on !?!?!??!
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 10:54 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,956

My System Specs

Default

Because Virtualbox sucks.

Stick w/ VMWare. You want to do this.

Folding@Home - VMWare Player 3.0 and Folding Bigadv Support - LinuxForge.net
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 11:24 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

ah ok ill try vmware approach vs virtual box
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 11:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,507

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFallen View Post
... my TPF is like 13:38 on regular SMP unit...it should be like 3:30ish.
this big a difference? wow. ok definitely linux folder next time
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 11:32 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I'm using virtual box for linux folding, and it is better than vmware in one way: can take 12 cores instead of 8. So my 970 don't get underutilized.

To the OP, get yourslef an affinity management program (i use process lasso 64 bit) and set the vm to all cores and idle priority. This way you should see 100% cpu usage and get TPF that is logical.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 11:36 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,956

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feanor View Post
I'm using virtual box for linux folding, and it is better than vmware in one way: can take 12 cores instead of 8. So my 970 don't get underutilized.

To the OP, get yourslef an affinity management program (i use process lasso 64 bit) and set the vm to all cores and idle priority. This way you should see 100% cpu usage and get TPF that is logical.

What kind of PPD are you getting?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 12:17 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

SMP performance in Vbox has improved a lot since it was first introduced in 3.0.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 05:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,507

My System Specs

Default

ok, so i am trying some linux folding right now, never operated linux in my life but I am following some guides and says that i picked up a 6884 project that has 14 days preferred deadline. I have a Ph II @3.2GHz. Is it normal to get that? or I am doing something wrong?

[01:19:29] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0%)
[01:23:21] Writing local files
[01:23:21] Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps (1%)

so my tpf is 3 min 52s. credit is 69 PPD. is there something wrong in here?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 05:47 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I think you need to let it fold at least 3 frames to get accurate tpf and ppd numbers...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 05:50 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
ok, so i am trying some linux folding right now, never operated linux in my life but I am following some guides and says that i picked up a 6884 project that has 14 days preferred deadline. I have a Ph II @3.2GHz. Is it normal to get that? or I am doing something wrong?

[01:19:29] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0%)
[01:23:21] Writing local files
[01:23:21] Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps (1%)

so my tpf is 3 min 52s. credit is 69 PPD. is there something wrong in here?
It's not unusual for new SMP installs to pick up a unicore wu to start with, that what it looks like happened to you.

It should pick a SMP wu right after that one.

And like Mr. Boggs said the first frames tpf don't mean much...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vm linux folding seems allot faster Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 50 November 4, 2011 07:01 PM
having a problem with Linux folding client Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 October 16, 2011 02:28 PM
Linux install for dedicated folding machine lowfat HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 February 26, 2011 10:22 AM
W Router Folding Linux matx... asking too much? belinik New Builds 1 October 9, 2009 02:46 PM
Linux SMP folding using XP / Vista + VMware sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 100 May 12, 2008 07:28 PM