Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 08:29 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default Correct PPD for setup

Hey guys just wondering if im getting correct ppd for my setup.
i7 920 @ 4GHz ~17000 PPD
460 GTX @ 900Mhz ~10000 PPD

my Cpu is working on SMP GRO_A3 core
Gpu is working on openmmgpu 15

and 87C is ok for my i7 correct?
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom

Last edited by MikeFallen; October 19, 2011 at 08:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 08:54 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 842

My System Specs

Default

i think 87c is too high but i don't know much that generator of i7.
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 09:00 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

its a dirty 4 ghz clock so once i drop voltages shpild be good
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 09:18 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,560

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, try to get it under 80C. Your points production is about right for your hardware, although I would think at 900MHz you should be able to squeeze an extra 2k PPD out of that 460. You might have to play around a bit with your process affinities and priorities to make that happen. No red flags, though.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 12:55 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

alright so its been going fora while and this is what it seemed it settled at

cpu~ 14k ppd
Gpu 12k PPD

If i run Cpu w/o Gpu folding i get like 18-19k ppd
if i run Gpu w/o cpu folding i get like 16ppd

is their anyway to optimize and get max or close to max of both...or are they both gonna constantly be bottle necking each other and that just the way it is
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 03:04 AM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Unfortunately thats just the way it is. When folding with the gpu it eats up a portion of your cpu cycles, so any cpu folding will take a hit. GPU folding is also not as energy efficient as cpu only folding. Most of the larger producers that run multiple folding boxes tend to run machines as either cpu or gpu boxes alone for that reason. So its up to you decide what level of production vs energy consumption you are comfortable with.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 06:58 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

Did you set the number of cores for smp to use? If not and fah is trying to use all cores, my suggestion would be to set -smp 7 flag to give your gpu folding it's own thread to use.

I played around with trying to maximize the two and found this tends to yield the highest ppd
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 08:19 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

will i still be able to run -bigadv with smp -7 ?
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2011, 08:33 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFallen View Post
will i still be able to run -bigadv with smp -7 ?
At 4.0Ghz you'll be fine.
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which is correct: cpu-z or windows sys info? schweppes RAM 8 March 16, 2011 08:39 AM
Is this the Correct way to Overclock an AMD 955+Crosshair III? Biff73 CPU's and Motherboards 2 July 28, 2010 11:40 AM
which temps are correct? cpu, cpu core1? Shadowmeph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 July 13, 2009 06:23 PM
are my readouts correct? D4ng3r CPU's and Motherboards 6 December 21, 2008 10:44 AM
Hardware Monitoring - What's correct. Malam Air Cooling 7 December 21, 2008 08:53 AM