Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 12:01 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,303

My System Specs

Default Vm linux folding seems allot faster

I loaded up opensuse in linux last night on one pc and on my other pc I loaded fubuntu64 bit linux and ran folding on both and at the same time I am running fah6 on on win7x64 on both my PCs and I have to say that folding in linux vm seems to be almost twice as fast
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 12:10 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

I'm sorry you are only finding this out now. I was fairly confident this was universally known.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 12:14 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,303

My System Specs

Default

hehe well now I know
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 01:02 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Yeah - it's been like that for as long as there's been a Linux client... Except for that brief interlude when bigadv was only available for the Windows client. Quick overview of the folding hierarchy:

Native Linux > VM Linux > Windows > Laundry.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 02:23 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

VM Linux only runs on 64 bit OS correct? Or can you run it on a 64 bit capable system?
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 04:06 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PerryC View Post
VM Linux only runs on 64 bit OS correct? Or can you run it on a 64 bit capable system?
You need a 64-bit flavour of Linux to run fah, correct. You can run 64-bit guests on 32-bit hosts provided VT is enabled and you're using a relatively modern version of VMware or Vbox.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 04:21 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Thanks DT, glad you understood what I was asking cause looking at it now I'm not sure what I was asking. Reading and re reading alot of the posts here, especially "Deux", got me wondering if I can squeeze abit more production out of my folder. I would love to put together a 2p folder or two together, but thats not in the cards right now. Squeezing some more production out of it will have to do.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 04:34 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PerryC View Post
Thanks DT, glad you understood what I was asking cause looking at it now I'm not sure what I was asking. Reading and re reading alot of the posts here, especially "Deux", got me wondering if I can squeeze abit more production out of my folder. I would love to put together a 2p folder or two together, but thats not in the cards right now. Squeezing some more production out of it will have to do.
No probs. No doubt building a new MP rig is a boatload of fun, but as they say "the devil is in the details" - and maximizing production out of existing hardware, especially from a PPD/W perspective, can be a very rewarding enterprise.

edit - I should also mention that I *believe* there may be a performance cost associated with running a 64-bit guest through VT vs. running on a 64-bit host. I have no evidence to back up that claim, just a feeling in my tummy.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 04:37 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,246

My System Specs

Default

$25 and a two four for whoever comes over to configure my folding rig.......
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 04:47 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Why not just get drunk, give yourself 2 1/2 lap dances and configure it on your own?

At this point, thanks in large part to linuxrouter, it really is easy to optimize your production.

edit - For up to 8 threads, see here. For more than 8 threads, see here.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
having a problem with Linux folding client Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 October 16, 2011 02:28 PM
Linux install for dedicated folding machine lowfat HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 February 26, 2011 10:22 AM
SSD set to IDE boots allot faster the set to AHCI Shadowmeph Storage 9 May 27, 2010 04:55 PM
W Router Folding Linux matx... asking too much? belinik New Builds 1 October 9, 2009 02:46 PM
Linux SMP folding using XP / Vista + VMware sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 100 May 12, 2008 07:28 PM