Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 09:10 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default GTX 460 Folding Slows Down/Stops Randomly

Lately, I've been running into a weird issue where GPU Folding on my GTX 460 just slows down or completely stops. It usually takes around 2 minutes to crunch a percentage, but then it'll suddenly drop down to 10 or 20 minutes for no reason at all. I'm not running anything 3D intensive like YouTube or anything. In fact, I'm just browsing the web or on MSN like I usually am. Upgrading to the latest beta drivers don't help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 09:31 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Is it dropping down to 2D clock speeds?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 09:44 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Nope! Staying at 3D speeds
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 07:38 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Here's a screenshot just after I turned off GPU folding. Not sure what's going on.... Guess I need to reinstall the client.



As you can see, it stays at 3D speeds the whole time. However the core usage is just.... crazy.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 04:52 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

I've got the same kinda problem - sometimes clockspeeds drop to 405 for some reason, and the only restarting helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 05:26 PM
prokaryote's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

Hmm. Try reinstalling the Nvidia driver, do a clean reinstall. If that doesn't work, try installing an earlier driver (266.58) or the latest beta driver. There have been issues with drivers and F@H for Nvidia cards.

-P
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 05:29 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Is it overheating and throttling?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 06:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

That actually happens to me for the first frame of any of the new WU's. Does it stay that way permanently?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 08:15 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prokaryote View Post
Hmm. Try reinstalling the Nvidia driver, do a clean reinstall. If that doesn't work, try installing an earlier driver (266.58) or the latest beta driver. There have been issues with drivers and F@H for Nvidia cards.

-P
Been there done that. Actually upgraded and downgraded lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
That actually happens to me for the first frame of any of the new WU's. Does it stay that way permanently?
If you mean staying at 3D speeds while not folding at full power? No. It goes back to normal after a while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Is it overheating and throttling?
No.

I might have found the problem, but I'm not 100% sure as like I said, it's difficult to trace since it happens randomly. The problem would be me using RSBuddy to bot RuneScape
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 03:17 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

In my case it sometimes happens and sometimes not, and not at any specific points I can recall. Just downclocks itself to 405 and there's nothing I can do about it apart from restarting.
Re installing drivers did not help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte LAN stops working FlyingFish Troubleshooting 5 November 7, 2010 10:58 AM
Cop Stops an Ambulance geokilla Off Topic 21 June 20, 2009 08:01 AM
Assassin's creed stops responding... CraigHf Gaming 13 April 29, 2008 01:57 PM
Games freezing randomly... iv:xx Troubleshooting 6 April 21, 2008 08:47 PM
Video Driver Stops Responding vintank Video Cards 10 March 13, 2008 08:54 PM