Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 04:29 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

I have no idea, since the case I'm using (Norco RPC-270) is EEB-compliant. Size is indeed same, but hole pattern may be different. You may have to drill and tap new holes to match the board.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 06:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,465

My System Specs

Default

3.0 do you know who are these guys at INVENTEC and how come they have a brand new 2P board for socket F at only 85$ at serversupply.com? T2112604 INVENTEC MOTHERBOARD SERVER BOARDS SOCKET- F
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; October 4, 2011 at 07:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 06:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Never heard about neither - Inventec, nor serversupply.com.... and the socket F is the last generation vs. the C32 / G34 sockets.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 07:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,465

My System Specs

Default

so given the fact that it will have 8 FPUs instead of just 4 as the Core i7, you think AMD FX will beat Core i7 2600k when it comes to folding performance?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 10:26 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
so given the fact that it will have 8 FPUs instead of just 4 as the Core i7, you think AMD FX will beat Core i7 2600k when it comes to folding performance?
Clock for clock, I would bet the farm on it. Cores > threads for symmetric processes 10 times out of 10. The only question is, how well will it overclock?
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2011, 11:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,465

My System Specs

Default

I was thinking of getting a X6 1090T, a good cooler and ovc it all the way to 4 GHz, then do the Ubuntu trick with the VM player into fooling the clinetn I have 8 core to download and process bigadv, but I guess i shall wait for Dozer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 11:43 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
I would bet the farm on it
Glad I didn't bet the farm.

Let's revise that earlier formula to "Cores > threads for symmetric processes 9 times out of 10."
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 12:24 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Clock for clock, I would bet the farm on it. Cores > threads for symmetric processes 10 times out of 10. The only question is, how well will it overclock?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Glad I didn't bet the farm.

Let's revise that earlier formula to "Cores > threads for symmetric processes 9 times out of 10."
I would laugh if this was not so sad.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 12:53 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

awww, 8-core MC chips might sit in a few rigs longer then planned....
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 03:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,465

My System Specs

Default

I have also seen an Asus KFSN40-DRE/SAS with two Opterons 2214 on ebay at 80$ here http://www.ebay.ca/itm/130584221943?...84.m1438.l2649

it would be good start as it has the heatsinks already, you need some registered ECC ram, DDR2, and later you can upgrade to some quad core opterons, on socket F, they are around 50$. You can start with regular SMP folding, then when you upgrade you can get on the -big adv units the right way without having to bend the rules, as I was thinking of doing it. I am thinking of that option too.
I am also interested in getting an HP Proliant DL585 G2 if I find one around locally. They are not that expensive in US but I don't know here.

i am getting a SUPERMICRO H8DME-2 OPTERON 2218 2GB COMBO to start my ventures in (more) cpu folding. i find my gpu folding setup too noisy for my taste. will upgrade later to a pair of Istanbul Opterons.
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; October 27, 2011 at 09:41 AM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Fold on GTX 460 geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 23, 2011 06:14 PM
Using CPU to fold BrokenHalo83 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 19, 2009 10:42 PM
Why Fold? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 November 19, 2008 07:25 PM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 05:02 PM