Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 07:37 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

What DT said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
I'll be frank. It's hard to recommend an investment in Socket F at this point. It's a dead platform. Yes it's true that the PPD/$ ratio is excellent with that platform. But know that the S4985 is a finicky board, and buying one without Tyan warranty support is risky. Honestly, DP/MP is not something you want to get into halfheartedly. My recommendation would be to take some time to save up some cash for a G34 or C32 platform. The secondhand market will soon be flooded with MC processors once Interlagos and Valencia make their long-awaited appearance.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 09:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I seen this on ebay but I am not familiar with Servers so I am not sure if it is any good
  • CPU: 4 x Opteron 8360 Quad Core 2.5GHz 16 Cores
  • MOTHERBOARD: TYAN S4985 Designed for very high-end workstations and servers.
  • RAM: 16GB DDR2 ECC REG 667
  • PSU: COOLER MASTER 850W Silent Pro
  • Case: Cooler Master Stacker silv

Current bid is 455 US
That power supply sucks. Know 2 friends that got it and within 3 months they both died. (not the friends !!!)
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 10:36 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
What DT said:
I was reading about the G34 or C32 platforms and apperantly they both use the AMD SR5690, SR5670, and SR5650 chipsets. any suggestions on which one?
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 06:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Both my AMD rigs use the SR5690 chipset. All are from the same design, only the number of pcie lanes and engines differ.

http://www.amd.com/us/Documents/4758...pset_brief.pdf
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 11:35 AM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

I love folding, even with my small contribution, Ive gone from 632nd to 494th on the HWC team and Climbing, over the last 2 days.

Thanks to DT and 3.0 for your Valuable Input, especially 3.0 your "Deux" has inspired me to Build a Similar 2P Folder. While I save for the Hardware i will be building a custom open air bench for it, keep an eye for my build log coming to you soon in case mods etc...

off to the plexiglass shop across from my office.......
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 11:59 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Just make sure that the motherboard stand-offs are properly grounded when using a plexi backpanel and that good cross airflow is present to cool the board components.

You're welcome; just ask again if you have more questions.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 03:42 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

I have been looking at a couple of server boards and am not really sure which one is better lol
Asus' KGPE- D16
Tyan S8236GM3NR
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 03:46 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

The only reason why I did not choose the Tyan over the Asus was the very close proximity of the CPUs, where quieter HSFs may not fit (like the Noctuas I'm using). Otherwise, both boards offer the same caracteristics, with the Tyan maybe a tad better in the selection of onboard components (being a server company).

But the KGPE-D16 is still going strong, with no hick-ups yet.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 04:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

I never thought about the closeness of the CPU's and the heat sinks fitting nice to know lol well I know which I am going to grab with in the next little while
TY
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2011, 04:32 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

question 3.0, what is the motherboard standoff pattern for the KPGE? the specs state its 12"x13" SSI EEB 3.61 which would have me believe its E-ATX in size but is the hole pattern different? what I've read they are (Toms) , but you have first hand knowledge.

Maybe someone here could point me in the right direction to finding a hole pattern template?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Fold on GTX 460 geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 23, 2011 07:14 PM
Using CPU to fold BrokenHalo83 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 19, 2009 11:42 PM
Why Fold? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 November 19, 2008 08:25 PM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 06:02 PM