Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 09:25 AM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

thanks DT, that makes the most sense. I would like something that has an upgrade path. I bought my LGA775 at the end of its life cycle and i dont regret it, Ive spent a lot of money upgrading obsolete parts.

I know i should post another thread but while i have the experts here, I have not been able to get my WHS to fold. can i install a f@H client on home server?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 09:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,477

My System Specs

Default

try installing FAH GPU tracker.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 09:38 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

MAn.. ready though this I think that I caught the bug and am serriously considering doing this problem is I have know idea about servers hehe
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 12:03 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolHandL View Post
I know i should post another thread but while i have the experts here, I have not been able to get my WHS to fold. can i install a f@H client on home server?
No idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
MAn.. ready though this I think that I caught the bug and am serriously considering doing this problem is I have know idea about servers hehe
A 2p or a 4p rig is no different than a single socket board. Compatibility of parts is a bit more of a challenge (especially the ram), but otherwise it's straight forward. OS is particular too (W7 recognizes 2 chips max, for 4p you need Windows Server), but since you are thinking about folding, Linux is the way to go.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:26 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
No idea.

A 2p or a 4p rig is no different than a single socket board. Compatibility of parts is a bit more of a challenge (especially the ram), but otherwise it's straight forward. OS is particular too (W7 recognizes 2 chips max, for 4p you need Windows Server), but since you are thinking about folding, Linux is the way to go.
would any Linux work? I ask becasue I prefer open suse just because that Linux version seems to like me allot hehe
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:04 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

I don't see why not.

Folding@Home - openSUSE
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 08:39 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

Oh cool now I just have to figure out what to build hehe.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 12:59 AM
prokaryote's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

__________________


Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 11:12 AM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

for the time being while i save up i have 2 Quad Core PC's chugging away on smp clients
Q6600 @ 3.3
Phenom II X4 925 @ 3.0

Thanks for all the INput, its helped a lot. $233 and Counting
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 02:19 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

I seen this on ebay but I am not familiar with Servers so I am not sure if it is any good
  • CPU: 4 x Opteron 8360 Quad Core 2.5GHz 16 Cores
  • MOTHERBOARD: TYAN S4985 Designed for very high-end workstations and servers.

  • RAM: 16GB DDR2 ECC REG 667

  • PSU: COOLER MASTER 850W Silent Pro
  • Case: Cooler Master Stacker silv


Current bid is 455 US
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Fold on GTX 460 geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 23, 2011 06:14 PM
Using CPU to fold BrokenHalo83 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 19, 2009 10:42 PM
Why Fold? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 November 19, 2008 07:25 PM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 05:02 PM