Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 03:25 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

I'd love to go Quad, to do so I'd have to set up a "fund my quad fundraiser, Now accepting $1 donations", but budget/wife restraints will keep me on a dual possibly.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 03:26 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

3.0 your quite right i thought the bolt pattern was same as am3
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 03:34 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,639

My System Specs

Default

Nope, 4.1" in a straight line. Now...

TYAN THUNDER N4250QE S4985G3NR-E 4 X QUAD OPTERON SOCKET-F 1207 SERVER BOARD | eBay

+

4 of those (if I'm not mistaken...): Opteron Quad Core 2.2GHz OS8354WAL4BGD socket 1207 | eBay

Add some DDR2 EEC ram (max 8Gb) and you have a quad-socket folder.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 03:48 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Nope, 4.1" in a straight line. Now...

TYAN THUNDER N4250QE S4985G3NR-E 4 X QUAD OPTERON SOCKET-F 1207 SERVER BOARD | eBay

+

4 of those (if I'm not mistaken...): Opteron Quad Core 2.2GHz OS8354WAL4BGD socket 1207 | eBay

Add some DDR2 EEC ram (max 8Gb) and you have a quad-socket folder.
Mounting holes on the above mentioned board are actually 3.5 (aka AM2/3 standard) so ANY Heatsink will work (using clips) or 939 (using bolts). Me and Dead_things use coolermaster TX3's with great success (his idea btw).

Also, the Quads I still have laying about at Exactly those mentioned in the ebay post 3.0 has there, cept I believe I was selling all 4x of mine plus 4x small heatsinks (not TX3s though) for like $150-160, haha. I don't remember what DT's quads were or what he was asking for them though.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 03:52 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

that is in my budget, its cheaper by a small amount than the G34 and 6128 combo, performance wise will the 4 headed beast be better than the dual 6128 / g34 combo?
at the end of the day, lower power consumption along with great performance is what i'm looking for oh and easy on the wallet... which isnt going to happen, stupid bug keeps getting me.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 04:00 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

to be honest its really for you to decide. On one hand the G34 will have a better upgrade path in the long run. However, the 1207 processors are getting cheaper and cheaper for higher clocks, and still have hex-core upgrade options. You can grab what you can afford now, but upgrade cheaply from a 16-core @ 2.2Ghz to a 24-core with the same or higher clocks down the road. Its really up to you.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 04:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,639

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Mounting holes on the above mentioned board are actually 3.5 (aka AM2/3 standard) so ANY Heatsink will work (using clips) or 939 (using bolts). Me and Dead_things use coolermaster TX3's with great success (his idea btw).

Also, the Quads I still have laying about at Exactly those mentioned in the ebay post 3.0 has there, cept I believe I was selling all 4x of mine plus 4x small heatsinks (not TX3s though) for like $150-160, haha. I don't remember what DT's quads were or what he was asking for them though.
My comment (4.1") was related to the G34 socket.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 05:12 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My comment (4.1") was related to the G34 socket.
Ah good point, My bad.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 07:40 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

I'll be frank. It's hard to recommend an investment in Socket F at this point. It's a dead platform. Yes it's true that the PPD/$ ratio is excellent with that platform. But know that the S4985 is a finicky board, and buying one without Tyan warranty support is risky. Honestly, DP/MP is not something you want to get into halfheartedly. My recommendation would be to take some time to save up some cash for a G34 or C32 platform. The secondhand market will soon be flooded with MC processors once Interlagos and Valencia make their long-awaited appearance.

By the way CM - I managed to sell my 8354's and 8356's. Had to take 'em to the 'bay to do it, though. Sold the 8354's for $10 less apiece than I paid for them, but sold the 8356's for $12.50 more apiece than I paid for them!

Okay, now I'll be susan.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 05:44 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

any idea if the Asus KFN4-DRE/2GBL works with hexa core Opteron 2419, Istanbul core? they say nothing in the supported cpu list. Maybe they forgot to update the document? there are some very cheap hexacore Opterons on ebay at the same seller. As for heatsink, any AM2+/AM3 works? even the stock ones?
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; October 1, 2011 at 05:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Fold on GTX 460 geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 23, 2011 06:14 PM
Using CPU to fold BrokenHalo83 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 April 19, 2009 10:42 PM
Why Fold? biff HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 November 19, 2008 07:25 PM
Why do You Fold? Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 August 28, 2007 05:02 PM