Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 08:47 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Once you go Dually, you never go back! Muhahahahaha!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 05:12 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Well, then... what do I do with the 4p in the garage?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 09:40 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 870

My System Specs

Default

I just ordered 2 AMD 6128 . I just hope that price match will be accepted . I will price match it for 221$ EACH.

This will be my first multi socket built.


Edit: Price match accepted at 221$ for each CPU. Reg price at Ncix is around 280$....
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2011, 11:52 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Go Alpine Go!

Woohoo!

BTW: A couple months ago, I PM'd this at $222.98 to $89.53 - and they accepted it. I <3 NCIX's PM policy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
I just ordered 2 AMD 6128 . I just hope that price match will be accepted . I will price match it for 221$ EACH.

This will be my first multi socket built.


Edit: Price match accepted at 221$ for each CPU. Reg price at Ncix is around 280$....
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2011, 04:47 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

FYI - for those going for multiple rigs, and think that simply cloning the data from one HDD to another is good enough... think again. Re-install the FAH Client will you? I lost a week of production on Deux because I cloned the Four Horsemen' Ubuntu data to a new drive, and let it rip. But that meant both rigs had the same UserId, which prevented the WUs from being accepted by Stanford...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2011, 11:00 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I am currently waiting for Newegg to restock the KGPE-D16 back in so I am wondering a few simple things like ram ,does it matter if the ram is UDIMM with ECC or non ECC, .
I seem to remember that servers use totally different more expensive ram.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2011, 12:12 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

This is the exact ram from the 'egg that I'm using: Newegg.ca - Kingston ValueRAM 2GB &#40;2 x 1GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 &#40;PC3 10600&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KVR1333D3N9K2&#47;2G. Qty.4 for Quad-channel.
Worked like a charm.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2011, 07:20 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
FYI - for those going for multiple rigs, and think that simply cloning the data from one HDD to another is good enough... think again. Re-install the FAH Client will you? I lost a week of production on Deux because I cloned the Four Horsemen' Ubuntu data to a new drive, and let it rip. But that meant both rigs had the same UserId, which prevented the WUs from being accepted by Stanford...
Good to know, I always wondered how ghosting one drive to the next would work out with respect to folding.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2011, 11:43 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 870

My System Specs

Default

Since im building my own DEUX machine (should i call it 2.1 ??) with the help of the Top Notch 3.0 Charlie, i would like to know if i will saw a big difference by installiing Ubuntu ? And which version of Ubuntu should i use ? Im not knowing alot Linux, so that scare me a little bit...
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2011, 11:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

linux is a breeze, as long as you have another machine close by with access to google :) or some of the popular linux guides on Folding forums around.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes