Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 07:17 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

Very nice there John!

Welcome to the "more than one multi-cpu folding monster" club

We are ecstatic to have you join
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 01:10 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 862

My System Specs

Default

3.0: Do you have news about tpf to tell us about your new folding machine ?
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 01:37 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
Very nice there John!

Welcome to the "more than one multi-cpu folding monster" club

We are ecstatic to have you join
Well thank you for the warm welcome into a very tight group of motherfolders... I guess?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
3.0: Do you have news about tpf to tell us about your new folding machine ?
The second WU being folded... is another 6904.
Similar tpf as shown previously, 1 hour 3 min 2 sec. ppd: 82926 credit: 362994
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; September 27, 2011 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 04:19 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 862

My System Specs

Default

its like 4days 1/2 to do thoses p6904 projet .. Crap !!!
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 05:20 PM
prokaryote's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

Ah, but the 4 headed monsters or the riders of the apocalypse can do it in 2 plus some change... then there's the rarely seen 8 headed hydra which can do it in a day!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 05:26 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Indeed. It's only a matter of cost.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 05:43 PM
prokaryote's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Question

Say, speaking of cost, is there some way <$1000 that two servers can be linked, maybe via a switched fabric like infiniband, so that they operate as one... Can see where I'm going with this. Maybe, there's a way to link two 4P servers that may have the speed of 6-7P? Just wishful thinking probably.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 05:57 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

F@H is not possible on clusters, unfortunately. The largest rig I've read about was a 4p Intel Beckton monster, 64 threads. Even then, the owner never managed to run a single Client using all 64 threads. He only managed two Clients @ 32 threads each - he did seem a bit of a F@H noob, mind you. I don't think he knew how to set it up properly.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 06:34 PM
prokaryote's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

Found this (Supermicro 4P with standard SATA connects) for ~$680...


I think it'd be worth it to sell the other single P kit along with the GTX 570s and pick this up. Just thinking out loud. An addiction is a scary thing. Thank goodness I can use this for "work" & classes.
__________________



Last edited by prokaryote; September 27, 2011 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Link seems to be to a shady company so I removed it.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2011, 06:59 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

As our dear Captain would reply:

Quote:
The Program(tm) is working. Welcome to The Addiction(tm).
But damn! That's a nice price.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes