Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #131 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 09:41 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Just delete the client from inside the FahMon window, and add the new one.
It was installed in the same directory, and thought it should have picked it up.

Well, now I'm at 2269 PPD with Windows SMP client. Next step, mucking around with VMware, after I play some WiC. And try to clean up the spaghetti in my case after the transplant. I think it's time for a modular PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #132 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 10:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
It was installed in the same directory, and thought it should have picked it up.

Well, now I'm at 2269 PPD with Windows SMP client. Next step, mucking around with VMware, after I play some WiC. And try to clean up the spaghetti in my case after the transplant. I think it's time for a modular PSU.
Great to have you aboard.

That PPD sounds about right for the Windows SMP client. I'd guess you'd see 500 or so more PPD if it was running the Linux SMP under VMware.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #133 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 10:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Actually 2200+ on a Dual Core under Windows is very good!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #134 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 12:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Well, that funky WU crapped out on me and I'm back up to normal PPD on the 6420 so all appears to be good. :)

Both VMs are still chugging along (haven't uploaded a WU yet from them so I'm holding my breath... :) ) @ slightly over 2500 PPD per VM so I'll see about 1500 PPD benefit to running 2 vmware instances over running the SMP natively under linux.

It was worth a try, but until they do something about the points awarded for quad core WUs and how well the SMP utilizes quad core processing power I'm going to stick with Linux VMs under windows.

There are two predominant quad core WUs. One gives out slightly over 4K PPD, and the other only 3K PPD. Depending on what WUs I was getting under native Linux I figure I was averaging 3.5K PPD so I'm up by 1.5K running the VMs. It might not be the "best science", but maybe the panda group folks need to get some social engineering students to help them understand human nature when it comes to awarding points...... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #135 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 01:14 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I'm back home a day early - and 3 rigs out of 5 were hung up, right after uploading the results. So it's update time, and I'm upgrading all Linux instances to 7.10 by the same token.

My Quads were producing ~ 4800ppd before the update. I agree with you, VMware + dual Linux / FAH instances is still the way to go.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #136 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 01:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm back home a day early - and 3 rigs out of 5 were hung up, right after uploading the results. So it's update time, and I'm upgrading all Linux instances to 7.10 by the same token.

My Quads were producing ~ 4800ppd before the update. I agree with you, VMware + dual Linux / FAH instances is still the way to go.
Don't know if you spend much time playing around inside the linux box's you're folding with, but I found out this weekend that the Giga P35 board onboard sound plays quite nicely with Linux under a VM. All that's needed is to "add" a soundcard to the hardware of the VM and off you go. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #137 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 01:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I knew about Gigabyte's onboard sound capabilities, but I don't use it. My "sound system" and HTPC is actually the kids' computer, with all the bells and whistles. It's my old Abit AS8-3rd Eye, which still runs great.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #138 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 08:04 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Took me 6 hours to update 4 of the 5 rigs to Ubuntu 7.10, then do a Vista Update, then re-install FAH. Both Quads are back online, but the E6400 is giving me problems. FAH starts, but it's been 1 hour and still I haven't seen the 1st percentage. I'll work on that tomorrow.

You've said that upgrading to 7.10, you gained ~ 80ppd? I have the same exact numbers, for both Quads.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #139 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 08:27 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Actually 2200+ on a Dual Core under Windows is very good!
Well, how about 2735 under VMware / Linux setup. But my CPU bounces between 90 - 95% utilization. Is this normal?

And I'm still at 3.87Ghz. Gonna try twisting the tail with the new ram in it later. Hey, can I leave VMware/FaH running while I do other intensive tasks? i.e. gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #140 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 08:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Well, how about 2735 under VMware / Linux setup. But my CPU bounces between 90 - 95% utilization. Is this normal?

And I'm still at 3.87Ghz. Gonna try twisting the tail with the new ram in it later. Hey, can I leave VMware/FaH running while I do other intensive tasks? i.e. gaming.
In theory you can, but I've always just shut it down prior to gaming. I didn't want to take the chance of getting lag in my game while Windoze decided which app should have priority.... :)

That's a great PPD!!! You may see some improvement to that as time goes on.... for some reason the linux VMs seem to take a while to get up to speed.

I'm currently seeing 9.5 minute 2605s on both of my linux VMs for the quad which is giving me about 2640 PPD / 2 cores and that seems to be rising every day it's running.... :)

And yeah.... another benefit to running the Linux SMP is that it seems to run a little less intensive than the Windows one. I was seeing between 92 & 95% cpu usage.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec TPQ Problems Discussion Thread enaberif Power Supplies 27 March 13, 2008 05:10 PM
Phenom Preview Discussion Thread Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 34 December 14, 2007 02:00 AM
Thermalright XWB-1 Review Discussion Thread Misoprostol Water Cooling 11 October 25, 2007 08:53 PM
GPU Round Up Discussion Thread Misoprostol Water Cooling 18 July 17, 2007 07:22 PM