Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 01:52 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default NV 580 boxen.

Quick question .

I have a tertiary folding rig ;

AMD Athlon 64 (Family 15,Model 47 , stepping 0) 2.0 Ghz on an Asus A8N-e mobo , 1 GB ram.(win XP)

It is currently running my 8800GTX for folding 24/7.

As a pure folding box , can I just drop a 580 in there ?......Its cpu bottleneck I'm thinking of , but I assume it's not an issue with folding ?

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 01:56 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

I don't see a problem with it. I don't think PCIe bandwidth is going to be a concern. Nor should the CPU bottleneck be either.

I say do it.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 01:58 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

It wouldn't be an A8NSLI-E Deluxe would it? I miss those boards...

Onto the question , you will be just fine.

Even if all you had was that and a 4X slot you would lose at most 1% or so. So do it.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 02:04 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

Awesome , I just wanted to triple check , it's a 'pci-e was new' mobo etc , ...

I think I'll just giver.



edit ; It might be ST , I can't see the full lable.I'll look when I redo it.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2011, 02:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if the board shows video at boot youre most probably ok afterwards.

anyone asked about the psu? *points finger at st :D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 01:41 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

PSU is fine.

-------

So in recognition of our team's 1 billion points , I pulled the trigger on the 580 , I'll be setting it up later today.

What's the best folding drivers for the 580 ?

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I cant remove my GTX 580!!!! slane3 Video Cards 6 July 10, 2011 02:47 PM
Best GTX 580? BFighter Video Cards 7 April 19, 2011 02:22 PM
GTX 580 Value? Shozzking Video Cards 2 March 25, 2011 05:24 PM
overclocking evga 580 need help..? Kamran1981 Video Cards 2 February 1, 2011 10:22 PM
Ok, lets talk about boxen. BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 September 23, 2008 09:03 PM