Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 09:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,579

My System Specs

Default

I am reviving this thread a bit because I am having a similar problem again : I received a GTS 450 also from MSI, the Cyclone OC version clocked at 850MHz. While the card is impeccable at gaming I have trouble folding with it. It stays next to another GTS 450 from Asus, also clocked by default at 850MHz and while the Asus is chugging fine the MSI failed to complete 10 WUs in a row, so it was given a 4 hour break. Also while it started a WU, the same number as the Asus, it showed a higher PPD, Asus was around 8.7 kPPD and MSI showed 1k PPD more. So it seems that maybe is MSI that is meddling with the cards not the chip itself. Anyone else has issues while GPU folding on MSI nvidia cards?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 06:35 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

I've used some MSI GTS 250's. they folded fine for the most part. the fan on one of them didn't last all that long and it was RMA'd. other than that they worked great.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 06:42 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Folding pushes the limits of stability, especially on oc'ed components. If the card is factory-oc'ed, then it may be stable speed-wise enough for the manufacturer, but not for folding. Downclock the card slightly, and give it another shot.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 07:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,579

My System Specs

Default

too late, I sold it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 08:04 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 554

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
too late, I sold it.
That was fast!

Not sure if this was the case, but these OC'd cards are sensitive if their fan is close to the next card, or close to a case wall/floor. I didn't fold much with it, but it was fine for the few days that I did, but that was with older units.

Sorry to hear that!
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2012, 02:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,579

My System Specs

Default

it was positioned under the Asus card in between the Asus and the intake of PSU. Clearly it was working cooler and quieter than the Asus, and that cooler of theirs is so nice looking. Now the Asus is in the same position and works fine. Eh well, it didn't work for me. I am thinking of selling the Asus and getting something like a GTX560ti
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 12:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,579

My System Specs

Default

I am getting an EVGA GTX 470 today, with the High Flow bracket installed, and even though for me this is the sunset of GPU folding, will try it in the same position as the MSI GTS 450 and will provide a follow up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2012, 04:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,579

My System Specs

Default

EVGA GTX 470 was working fine. I found out however that in order to get multiple GPUs working on SR2 you need to power on that 6 pin connector that is on the mobo. I am having another go at this again, I got a gtx 550 from EVGA this time. Funny thing however : the card was not seating completely in the slot because the shroud on the card was resting on the northbridge cover of the SR2. You would think EVGA would design their products to be compatible with one another! I had to remove the shroud of an EVGA GTX 550Ti in order for the card to sit completely in a pcie x16 port on the EVGA SR2 motherboard! This GTX 550 is chewing through his first unit right now. Asus GTS 450 is in charge of display and gaming duty. I might get a GT 640 however for gaming and display.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 03:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,579

My System Specs

Default

I got rid of my 3rd GTX 550 Ti this time the EVGA implementation. Very good for any task (browsing , multimedia, gaming) except folding, would stuck like in the middle of a WU at different percentages of completion with no apparent reason. And when I used it as a display card to GPU fold on it the lag time was horrible, around 4 seconds delay. I hope is going to a loving home as there is no love here for GTX 550 Ti. Most probably was my last one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 26 June 24, 2011 08:25 AM
ZOTAC announces GeForce GTX 550 Ti Multiview Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 21, 2011 08:15 AM
GTX 260 vs 550 TI AbsoluteKyle Video Cards 7 May 13, 2011 04:27 PM