Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:40 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default Finding work folder for 6.34 client in VM

Hey guys, this is my second attempt at running bigadv using the 6.34 Linux version on a virtual machine. Kinda confused... the first time I did the web config and entered the web address into HFM to monitor things. No problems except no big WUs', so I went back to windows version.

After hearing bigadv units were now more plentiful I went back and tried Linux/VM Ware again. This time I set up manually... and I cannot get HFM to work using the web address shown in the client. There should be a work folder somewhere to point HFM to shouldn't there? Can't for the life of me find it
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:43 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G777 View Post
Hey guys, this is my second attempt at running bigadv using the 6.34 Linux version on a virtual machine. Kinda confused... the first time I did the web config and entered the web address into HFM to monitor things. No problems except no big WUs', so I went back to windows version.

After hearing bigadv units were now more plentiful I went back and tried Linux/VM Ware again. This time I set up manually... and I cannot get HFM to work using the web address shown in the client. There should be a work folder somewhere to point HFM to shouldn't there? Can't for the life of me find it
Are you using Linuxrouter's image?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:47 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Try \\FAH\fah
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:47 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Yes, v1.5.0 iirc
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:48 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 863

My System Specs

Default

i have try last week running Ubuntu in a VM, and i didn't have one bigadv work to do.
Last saturday night, i swich back to Windows SMP and got Bigadv.


I hope you will have more success than me..
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 03:51 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Try \\FAH\fah
Thanks Chris, I'll try that when I get home from work

Alpine- got a 6901 first thing: maybe luck or hopefully there's more out there!
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 04:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

The HFM folder to link is the same web address you used, adding to it \fah\.
As for using the VM, I've had only bigadvs for a week now.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 04:21 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Actually I thought I did add the\fah\ when I tried it. Will try again.I also noticed there were no virtual network and adapters created this time which I believe was the case when I did the web config.
I set the VM network setting to NAT, not sure if that would make a difference. I'm probably simply confused by it all, but is there not a physical location on the hard drive for the work folder? I tried pointing HFM at every folder I could find in the FAH folder the image extracted to. Also looked through program files, app data, did a search...

Thanks for the input guys!
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 04:28 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

The hard drive is a virtual drive, so you need to access it using the network address I listed earlier.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 04:30 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
The hard drive is a virtual drive, so you need to access it using the network address I listed earlier.
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Old Folder.. mchutch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 February 27, 2011 08:01 PM
Fail to get work on linux CPU client? martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 June 6, 2010 06:26 PM
Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder ilya New Builds 3 May 16, 2010 03:33 PM
Attempt #10 to get work failed, and no other work to do. LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 5, 2010 08:29 AM
Folder down redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 October 2, 2009 12:35 PM