Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 08:16 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default Air Conditioners: How do they work?

I've been looking at air conditioning to get ready for summer and I was wondering if anyone else has an interesting way they fold through the summer.

I'm not in control of this stuff, but...
It looks like I'm getting a 21,000 BTU (6kw) ductless air conditioning system installed in my 1200 sq ft house. It's a really efficient unit, 16.5 SEER. I did some reading and it looks like 16.5 SEER means it should be able to move out 5W of heat with 1W of power. I think that means it will only be 1200W under full load. The HVAC tech says he he installs most units like this in IT applications which I thought was interesting.

There are 2 radiators that go in the house, one 9000btu and one 12000btu. I just wish I had the money to put the 2.6kw unit in a closet with 3 SR-2. You could probably run bellow zero with all outside airflow cut off.
I'll still cut down on folding in the summer but I will keep at least one bigadv machine going and probably a GTX 460 too. I'm just dreaming really, it doesn't cost anything to fold in the winter so there's no way I'm paying for electricity + 20% for the cooling to run in the summer.

How do you guys plan to fold this summer? Is 21,000 btu really 6kw? That seems kind of extreme.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 08:30 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

The last two years I never folded much during the summer because of the extra heat. However my SR-2s though out next to no heat compared to GPU folding I use to do. Hopefully because of this I'll fold w/ them during the summer still.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 09:16 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

The -bigadv will be no big deal in the summer. The do not through that much heat. Video cards on the other hand are great space heaters. I heated my basement with 6 560s this winter in -30c temps.....as in, the heat was shut off.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 10:14 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well you can run it when youre there and off it when you step out.

i sugest also making use of the in palce ventilation, aka windows and house fans
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 10:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

I know one guy setup his rig with a ton of Delta's to exhaust outside, his rig was in the garage.

As for myself, I just fold during the cheap smart meter hours, which are at night and reduce the need for extra AC. Not to mention it ends up costing me less than $5 a month in power for ~220k points. (approximate increased AC costs included)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 09:35 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I folded all summer long with GPUs going full tilt in my basement and my air conditioners going all out, all summer.

Not this summer, screw that noise.

SR-2 will be in the garage, and that's it.

6KW for 21,000 BTU is far too much. I'm not sure you were given the right specifications? I don't know..
I have a 15,000 BTU air conditioner in my wall for my upstairs, that runs off a standard NEMA 15A wall outlet (1440 watt max)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 02:29 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

I meant it can take out 6kw of heat. You could run 5kw of folding hardware in a room with it and it would keep the air temps frosty. I think.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 02:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

measuring heat in power now. oh wow! :D
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2011, 08:36 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Air conditioners are ratted in BTU per hour. BTUs are a measure of heat energy and when you convert it to kw hours you get 6 kilowatt hours per hour or 6 kilowatts. I agree it's interesting to think about it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2011, 05:46 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

oh, I see what you're talking about now. When I read the wattage, I instantly went with what it draws from the wall -which is normally a concern when purchasing air conditioners.. well, for me at least.

Liebert/Emerson/Eaton used to have calculators for LAN rooms, to determine the air conditioning system needed based on your server setup and future expansions.. and most of their systems are rated by kW, not BTU. I'm pretty sure you can find them online by now. I used to have the program on my old laptop that you used to put in the room size + the systems and cabinets you were going to use and it would spit out the size in kW + the recommended model. Most of the time it was right, lol.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Line Conditioners for voltage regulation DougTheSlug Power Supplies 18 November 27, 2009 02:39 PM