Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2011, 05:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,577

My System Specs

Default

Update : the client shows the PPD estimate for my gpu and is 5636. Pretty good. I guess I will keep it in the family. can I put to work the cpu also so I could dedicate 2 cores for the work?
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 08:27 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What Nvidia drivers are folks using for multiple GPU folding under V7 Beta?

I just setup a dual GTS 450 rig, and while it recognised both cards, and configured both to run automatically, it doesn't seem to be able to run the 6XXX WUs. 1XXXXX WUs seem to run fine. Am I missing something here?
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Humm...I was goong to suggest using flags to tell the clients what cards are running, but I am not sure about the v7 client...want to try adding the flags anyways?
How do I know what the client flags (-switches) are and what they do? - FaHWiki

There is a section to add flags, I just forget what its called as I only used v7 for a few weeks.

Also try disabling SLI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm not sure flags would do anything for me as the clients recognise the cards as what they are, and are able to complete some of the WUs... keeps giving me a "running Unit 00, returned: UNKNOWN_ENUM (-1)" error on any 6XXX WUs. I did a quick search on the error, and didn't come up with anything that looked like a solution.

I may end up having to go back to the old method of running multiple GPU setups, but the setup for the V7 Beta is just so freaking easy, it'd be a sin if I wasn't able to run it for my current GPU farm, as well as my new SLI 560 ti build for both SMP and GPUX2.

More research I guess... main rig won't be ready for a few days anywise... did 3 complete tear downs, 1 partial Water Loop rebuild, 1 complete Water Loop rebuild, and 2 full builds this weekend... need a bit of a break from computer hardware.... ;)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
A clean driver install then might work wonders if you are reformatting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Looks like the newer drivers might not play nice with FAH specifically when paired with a GTS 450. I'll try some older drivers tomorrow.
Yep... looks like it was drivers. Installed the 267.59 drivers and started running 6XXX WUs immediately without any problems. Seems to be taking a lot of CPU cycles to run though.... not a problem with this build (it's an Athlon 250 dual core with no intention to run SMP), but I suspect I won't be running V7 beta for my main SLI'd 560 ti + 1090t SMP rig.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 10:52 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

Is there anyway to get HFM to monitor the V7 client?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 11:18 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Is there anyway to get HFM to monitor the V7 client?
Not yet.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 03:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,577

My System Specs

Default

apparently the newest nVidia drivers are of no use when it comes to 6xxx WUs, the cards will stall and not process anything. At least for the 6800 project. 10.xxx range goes very fast
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 08:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
apparently the newest nVidia drivers are of no use when it comes to 6xxx WUs, the cards will stall and not process anything. At least for the 6800 project. 10.xxx range goes very fast
What drivers are you referring to? Using 275.33's right now and they are doing great so far.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 08:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,577

My System Specs

Default

i used the 275.33 and 275.50 at least with the gtx550. the gts 250 i keep it on 260.99
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2011, 10:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

I am getting uniprocessor WU's for my 2600k. Getting a whopping 11,000 ppd. Is that normal?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2011, 11:14 AM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Installed this client and up to about 35% complete. About 5h30min to 6h to finish a work unit, at about 3m25s for tpf. Not sure what the point production will be as it isn't showing anything yet. Will have to keep an eye on it.

The chart at OCN shows around 5.5k. If I get around the same that will be about double what I was getting with the gpu2 client.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2011, 03:50 PM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Update-- About 30% done wu 2 on this client, time per frame has dropped to about 3 minutes.. Still doesn't show any points estimates, but got 511 points for the first wu...same as what I was getting with the gpu2.
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 10.5 Alpha/Beta/whatever burebista Video Cards 2 April 4, 2010 07:28 PM
9.10 ati beta drivers hightest O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 September 30, 2009 06:55 PM
ati beta 8.12 hightest O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 December 5, 2008 10:48 AM
Update your SMP beta client before it expires Oct 1 pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 September 30, 2007 10:19 PM