Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 07:55 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 603

My System Specs

Default

I believe they are recommending AGAINST using this client for SMP or bigadv work. I would probably stick to what you have going Chris. From the other forums, it seems like this should only be used for AMD folding at the moment, or at least until some bugs are ironed out and the new core is released.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 07:58 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I get "Failed to read response packet" whenever I try regular smp, unicore, or gpu work units.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 08:00 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

From overclock.net:
"I'd also recommend that for i7 SMP users, you don't switch to this client just yet. We're not yet certain how -bigadv will work on this client at the moment, but will post something when we find out. TC Folders, as you've been told, don't switch to this client until you get a message from me. I highly doubt you'll be able to assign separate passkeys within the client, so we need to see how things go. "
[Official] The new Folding@home client is here! - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 08:21 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Yeah I get "Failed to read response packet" whenever I try regular smp, unicore, or gpu work units.
I saw on the Folding forum that you've disabled your firewall but could your antivirus be blocking it ??.

Maybe try manually making an exception for all the Fah folders in the antivirus and also dropping the UAC level to nothing...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 08:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If nothing else comes out of the new client, this will make it all worthwhile. (No more losing PPD because the return server is out/laggy).
There already is Langouste to allow download before completed WU is uploaded.

Folding Forum • View topic - Langouste -- WU upload/download de-coupler (+upload capping)
__________________
24 threads @ 4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 10:22 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

I have found there is a threshold to Langouste's utility. On slower bigadv machines like i7's - it's very useful. On faster machines, however, the impact of the lost cycles needed to run Langouste in the background (a couple seconds per frame) quickly adds up and negates any benefit of it. Of course, on anything except bigadv, it's not really all that relevant since the ordinary client will still download a new WU and hold the completed WU(s) in queue when the results server is down.

And this raises some obvious questions about the V7 client: How big is the footprint? How much overhead is there? What is the impact on TPF for all manner of projects? I suspect that there will be a negative impact, which will be largely inconsequential for most machines but significant for the faster ones.

V7 was designed to make setting up folding easier. Since I do not need folding to be any easier, this is not something with which I plan to be an early adopter.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!
Proud to be Folding @ Home
deadthings @ Team 37412



Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 11:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
I have found there is a threshold to Langouste's utility. On slower bigadv machines like i7's - it's very useful. On faster machines, however, the impact of the lost cycles needed to run Langouste in the background (a couple seconds per frame) quickly adds up and negates any benefit of it. Of course, on anything except bigadv, it's not really all that relevant since the ordinary client will still download a new WU and hold the completed WU(s) in queue when the results server is down.

And this raises some obvious questions about the V7 client: How big is the footprint? How much overhead is there? What is the impact on TPF for all manner of projects? I suspect that there will be a negative impact, which will be largely inconsequential for most machines but significant for the faster ones.

V7 was designed to make setting up folding easier. Since I do not need folding to be any easier, this is not something with which I plan to be an early adopter.
My i7 at 4ghz was showing 12-13% per GPU core, but overall CPU usage was 30-31% on average. So about 4% is unexplained for and could be this overhead. I'm no expert though.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2011, 02:34 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Looking at the results posted on other forums, it looks it is an improvement for Ati, but I can still get more points running SMP on my old Q6600 than my 5850.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 02:06 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

Finally got v7 to work on my main rig. I think there was an issue on the assignment server's end that messed up something on my end, but I don't really know. I ended up deleting a 'slot' and creating a new one, and it seemed to work this time (tried a few days ago with no success).
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 01:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Looking at the results posted on other forums, it looks it is an improvement for Ati, but I can still get more points running SMP on my old Q6600 than my 5850.
Is this with a new core 16 WU? According to the few numbers I've seen at foldingforum, your ppd should at least double.
__________________
24 threads @ 4GHz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 10.5 Alpha/Beta/whatever burebista Video Cards 2 April 4, 2010 07:28 PM
9.10 ati beta drivers hightest O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 September 30, 2009 06:55 PM
ati beta 8.12 hightest O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 December 5, 2008 10:48 AM
Update your SMP beta client before it expires Oct 1 pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 September 30, 2007 10:19 PM