Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:00 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default Can't Fold on GTX 460

Hey guys so I got my GTX 460 yesterday and installed it this morning. However I can't seem to fold with it! I installed the latest GPU3 client and followed the console installation instructions, including the part where it says to add -forcegpu nvidia_fermi in the Additional Client Parameters. It just errors out saying I'm missing the cudart32_30_14.dll file. Wth? I did a quick Google search and didn't find anything in my AppData folder either.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:26 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

Did you install the latest drivers from www.nvidia.com? It kinda sounds like Cuda is not installed or not installed propperly. BTW...what card was installed before. If there is a conflict of some sort you may need to run drivercleaner and reinstall the cards drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:26 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

I never got GPU3 to work with my 460s, I just use GPU2. If you figure it out LMK.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:32 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

found this on the google. Find that file in your computer and copy it or it is telling you it is in folding@home-gpu, then......

Go to,
C:\Users\your user name\AppData
go to roaming,
go into fold@home-gpu,
Copy and paste Cudart32_30_14.dll into folding@home in your programfiles(x86) folder.


If you are like me it will then ask you for cufft32_30_14.dll.
Repeat process above,
its in the same place.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:33 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wi-Fuzzy View Post
Did you install the latest drivers from www.nvidia.com? It kinda sounds like Cuda is not installed or not installed propperly. BTW...what card was installed before. If there is a conflict of some sort you may need to run drivercleaner and reinstall the cards drivers.
Yep I did. Latest are 266.58. I previously had a 9600GT. I did a clean install of the NVIDIA drivers.

I searched around a bit more and it's that Folding@Home is missing the required files to fold on the GTX 460. It seems that as long as I can find the files, then everything is good to go. It's not a driver problem.

Btw I saw that site, but there was nothing in AppData. Which is why I posted.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; March 22, 2011 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 10:30 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wi-Fuzzy View Post
found this on the google. Find that file in your computer and copy it or it is telling you it is in folding@home-gpu, then......

Go to,
C:\Users\your user name\AppData
go to roaming,
go into fold@home-gpu,
Copy and paste Cudart32_30_14.dll into folding@home in your programfiles(x86) folder.


If you are like me it will then ask you for cufft32_30_14.dll.
Repeat process above,
its in the same place.
I believe those locations are only used by the Systray client, the Console client should keep all the files in whichever folder you install it in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Yep I did. Latest are 266.58. I previously had a 9600GT. I did a clean install of the NVIDIA drivers.

I searched around a bit more and it's that Folding@Home is missing the required files to fold on the GTX 460. It seems that as long as I can find the files, then everything is good to go. It's not a driver problem.

Btw I saw that site, but there was nothing in AppData. Which is why I posted.
Try downloading the older client from; http://www.stanford.edu/~friedrim/.F..._Vista-631.zip:

Then update the exe from: Folding@home - Folding@home - My Folding Page

My 460's have worked fine from day1, just install them in a folder directly on your drive, not in the program files directory.

Hope that helps...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 10:32 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
I believe those locations are only used by the Systray client, the Console client should keep all the files in whichever folder you install it in.


Try downloading the older client from; http://www.stanford.edu/~friedrim/.Folding@home-Win32-GPU_Vista-631.zip:

Then update the exe from: Folding@home - Folding@home - My Folding Page

My 460's have worked fine from day1, just install them in a folder directly on your drive, not in the program files directory.

Hope that helps...
And it's up and running! Thanks.

How'd you find the link?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 10:52 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
And it's up and running! Thanks.

How'd you find the link?
One of the mod's PantherX over at the Folding Forums has a list of d/l links in his GPU3 Guide that he has linked in his sig.

I keep that shortcut in my "I'll probably never need them, but..." folder
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2011, 06:14 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
my "I'll probably never need them, but..." folder
You should probably rename it to the "I'm guaranteed to need this eventually" folder.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 570, GTX 460 1GB SLI or AMD alternative(s)? Zak_M Video Cards 4 December 18, 2010 05:43 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 10:01 AM
Second gtx 275 doesn't want to fold Ogdin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 9, 2009 10:21 AM