Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 08:26 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default Checkpointing Interval; Anybody Else Play With It ??.

Don't know if this was posted already but has anybody else changed the default checkpointing interval on their -bigadv rigs and if so did it make a difference ?.

I happened to notice while running a regular smp that on some frames the tpf would jump to more than double, turns out it was every 15mins which is the default checkpoint interval.

I don't remember what the change was on the smp but changing the checkpoint interval to the max. 30min seems to have dropped between 20 - 25 secs off of my -bigadvs' avg tpf adding 2.5k+ ppd on the faster rig while Folding a 6900 wu...

YMMV

__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 08:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

leave it on max. the less it checks and writes to disk the better.


unless you have many spontaneous reboots.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 09:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,924

My System Specs

Default

checkpoint=3

Does that mean mine is set to 3 minutes?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 09:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i dont have a bigadv next to me but if thats 3 mins coddamn! and ouch your ssd!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 09:27 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
checkpoint=3

Does that mean mine is set to 3 minutes?
I do believe so.

Did you change it during config, default should be 15mins...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 09:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

IMO I wouldn't go any lower than my current 5 minutes, like LCB001 I have noticed that checkpoint frames do increase in completion time. Not by that margin though, more like going from 3:04 to 3:07 for one frame on SMP. (which isn't very significant if you don't have a frequent checkpoint) I haven't really had the patience to watch bigadv frames yet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 09:54 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
IMO I wouldn't go any lower than my current 5 minutes, like LCB001 I have noticed that checkpoint frames do increase in completion time. Not by that margin though, more like going from 3:04 to 3:07 for one frame on SMP. (which isn't very significant if you don't have a frequent checkpoint) I haven't really had the patience to watch bigadv frames yet.
Why do you have your checkpoint time so low, try it at 30 min and see if it makes a diff.

With a bigadv having it at every 5 mins means its writing an awfull lot of checkpoints per frame...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 10:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB001 View Post
Why do you have your checkpoint time so low, try it at 30 min and see if it makes a diff.

With a bigadv having it at every 5 mins means its writing an awfull lot of checkpoints per frame...
I do SMP on weekdays and bigadv on weekends for energy costs and so I meet deadlines. I stop the SMP clients pretty often to work/play and sometimes have issues with the client saving work so I set the checkpoint as low as I found reasonable. It works out to a ~1-2% production loss on most SMP's so I think the added reliability is worth it since I don't use a UPS. Bigadv would be worth looking into though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2011, 11:11 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

I have always changed this to the minimum of 3mins, for the simple fact that it saves more info when (not if) you have crashes and random resets. I guess if you have a stable rig that can fold for weeks on end without problems increasing this is beneficial.

$0.02
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2011, 06:12 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

The problem with having a short backup time, is the chance for corruption increases. If your PC power flickers (or UPS dies, w/e) while doing a backup.. the work unit is lost. The shorter the backup time = the better chance that if you lose power / PC freezes up you'll be backing up a WU.

That, and the tpf as others have mentioned. All my bigadv systems are set to 30 min, as they are on UPS' and mainly just crunch numbers all day.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
-bigadv , bigadv , checkpointing , checkpoints , f@h , smp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restart random interval tim333 Troubleshooting 10 June 9, 2009 11:20 AM
Do people still play muse108dc Gaming 8 May 8, 2009 01:49 AM
What do u play!! cmac79 Off Topic 5 November 7, 2008 08:36 AM
Need something to play... Evilyeti Gaming 21 January 28, 2008 04:48 PM
What Game's do You Play? Supergrover Gaming 51 December 12, 2007 01:02 PM