Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 12:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

a step in the right decision, but i want you to lower mem and core as much as precision lets you.

this,sometimes,is a sign of death,slowly coming.

had a few were i needed to eventually lower clocks over time and then boom.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 12:41 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar problem last week, updating to nvidia's new drivers this week fixxed the problem.

Might as well update and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 12:44 PM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
a step in the right decision, but i want you to lower mem and core as much as precision lets you.

this,sometimes,is a sign of death,slowly coming.

had a few were i needed to eventually lower clocks over time and then boom.
Well that's reassuring. Perhaps I'll have to get some 570's sooner then I thought.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
I had a similar problem last week, updating to nvidia's new drivers this week fixxed the problem.

Might as well update and see how it goes.
So far so good here as well. Hopefully it stays that way.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 12:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you might keep an eye open for gtx 560..


oh btw,sky,if you ever be reading, how ,theoretically speaking,do you like them evga samples?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 01:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I'm hoping the 560s overclock as well as the 460s :)

My 460s hit 920mhz, a 36% OC is godlike.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 04:57 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

The apocolypse for your video cards is near. Say your goodbyes soon.

Every single one of my 280s have failed over the years due to folding.. some multiple times w/ RMAs.

I would delete and re-download the directory for the failing GPU and update the video card drivers. Other than that - look into RMA options or purchasing a new video card. :(
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 06:44 AM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 82
Default

Guess I'll just have to run these into the ground and just upgrade accordingly then.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 07:24 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post

I would delete and re-download the directory for the failing GPU and update the video card drivers. Other than that - look into RMA options or purchasing a new video card. :(
Agreed. When I change my drivers, I delete the work folder, queue.dat, and the core files.

I also make sure I do a clean install of the drivers. I used to use driverclean.net, but the "clean install" option in the newer nVidia drivers seems to work for me.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 11:38 AM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 82
Default

I deleted all the files you suggested and updated. My first project on both GPU's goes fine then for all the following ones the PPD seem to get cut in half but the GPU's are still working at 99%.

I'm going to order some new cards here shortly. I always felt that something was up when I would get random freezes in games, I guess folding just gave me confirmation of what I suspected. Oh well a pair of 570's is in the near future. Just more PPD potential til I get a dedicated folding rig up.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 11:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Have you run Furmark on the cards? If the cards are ready to crap out you should see artifacting and/or pixelation. You could also try replacing the thermal paste on the cards and flashing the bios before retiring them. I've resurrected one card by a reflash and it's still running fine...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 hard drive failures in one year...and a 3rd coming yanhchan Storage 16 October 13, 2010 04:08 PM
Which GPU purerussell New Builds 5 June 28, 2010 03:39 PM
Dual GPU Folding on one GPU (FahCore_14 only) geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 August 8, 2009 05:35 PM
Everything but the GPU xile042 Video Cards 9 December 11, 2008 09:09 PM
Help, Need a new GPU!!!! bushwickbill Video Cards 14 April 14, 2008 07:22 AM