Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2011, 06:39 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

Got my setup up and running tonight. P8P67 vanilla, TT Frio push/pull. Corsair 4Gb ram 1600 C9 running @ 1372. APC software says 265W load.
Received the chip at 1600, and started running -bigadv at 2100...

edit. 1st frame complete, tpf is 23:26. Frame 2: 23:22; Frame 3: 23:19.

__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; March 31, 2011 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2011, 06:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

very nice penguin-sama!!!

1.4 volts is decent too. intel said something about 1.35 i believe but close enough :p
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2011, 08:44 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Amazing clocks. I would probably run the ram at 1600 or faster, they can probably do 1800 cl9 with 1.6V or something. Ram makes a considerable difference with bigadv so even if you have to drop back to 4.7Ghz you should at least test to see if how it changes TPF.
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 04:02 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

It is more in a testing / discovery mode at the moment, and I know the ram can handle some more. But I want to make sure the rig is stable 1st.
I also found out you have to use the "Reviewer's pack" of CPUID in order to see proper SB data (CPU-z 1.56.1, HWMonitor and Aida64). I do know
that CoreTemp's "VID" is actually the Vcore being shown.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 08:01 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

Rams speed makes a difference? Do you have any proof of that? Not that I think you would make it up.....just would like to know how much difference. 1000 PPD, I don't care. 3000-5000 PPD, and I care.
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 08:50 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

So wickedld9 on hardforum saved 1 min on the tpf of a p6900 by going from 1600mhz cl9 to 2133 cl10 on the same wu, os, board etc. That works out to around 4k ppd.

Also with a p6061, 4.9ghz 1600 cl9 = 4.7ghz 2133 cl10.

2133 cl9 is $73 on newegg so I see no reason not to get that.

Posts:
[H]ard|Forum - View Single Post - 2600K @4.9ghz = 2:04 TPF in P6054
[H]ard|Forum - View Single Post - 2600K @4.9ghz = 2:04 TPF in P6054

Last edited by Zink; April 1, 2011 at 09:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 08:56 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

wasnt qpi speed that made the difference?

although i heard about ram too but it wasnt...much? :)
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 10:11 AM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 81
Default

I'm almost half tempted to grab a mATX setup with a 2600k just for folding. Then I wouldn't feel so guilty about pausing my folding to play games occasional
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 10:20 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

2600k on a matx? discrete low end gpu, you could do well with a psu that does 250 watts on the 12v stable :) small case...yummy
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 10:53 AM
Crandall's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: No Funswick
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
2600k on a matx? discrete low end gpu, you could do well with a psu that does 250 watts on the 12v stable :) small case...yummy
That's kind of what I'm thinking; just something I can put on the shelf under my desk. I think I might price it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AND PPD WILL SUFFER , THUNDERED THE FOLDING GODS!! _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 39 February 21, 2010 10:51 AM
Folding on Fermi: 200K PPD???? chrisk HardwareCanucks F@H Team 30 October 14, 2009 04:43 PM
New Folding/Crunching Rig crazyhorsejohnny HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 September 13, 2009 09:13 AM
Need Suggestions for Folding Rig redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 27 September 3, 2009 12:28 AM
Motherboard for Folding Rig? ImmaPC CPU's and Motherboards 18 June 11, 2009 08:43 PM