Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 09:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well, i must be unlucky then because when i mix gus i got to play with those tricks like there's no yesterday. hey, as long as it works.:)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 09:59 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photograph View Post
Ok, I have news to report. Both GTS 450's are folding, but the GTX 260 refuses to start with a "CoreStatus= 63 <99>" Error. SMP is working too, with no effect on the two Fermi cards running GPU3.
You need to add the -forcegpu nvidia_g80 to the client running on the GTX 260. You can do this in lieu of extending the desktop on Windows XP. You need to do this as well because the GTX 260 is not your primary adapter.

The -forcegpu flags TELL the folding client what card you are running, and the folding client will blindly run the binaries associated with that particular GPU, without checking.

If this fails you can try and replace the client running the GTX 260 with the older GPU2 client which gives slightly better performance on older GTx 2xx cards.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 10:06 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10e View Post
If this fails you can try and replace the client running the GTX 260 with the older GPU2 client which gives slightly better performance on older GTx 2xx cards.
In my own experience with mixing generations - you should probably do this anyway. Reduces headaches and increases production.

Or - to make things even simpler, why not try out FAH Tracker? It worries about all that kinda stuff for you and automatically configures things relatively optimally. FAH GPU Tracker V2
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 01:31 PM
Photograph's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: T.O.
Posts: 193

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the input guys. I tried the different clients as well as the force gpu flags and even moving cards to different slots with no luck mixing card generations so I have decided to relocate the Fermi cards to my server and let them fold in there since that machine is on all the time anyways. The cards + the Quad in the server are presently generating 20-21K per day now. Thanks for the help guys

In other news; all this activity has brought my wife's attention to the armada of machines in our basement so she has asked me to eliminate a few as we need to make space for our new family (kid's play) room. So I'll be selling a bunch of folding cards, motherboards and parts shortly if anyone is in the market.

Cheers,

Photo
__________________
HWC Folding Rig: Gigabyte H55N-USB3, Intel Core i3 530 @4.6Ghz, GTX 460
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2011, 02:44 PM
badatcards's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia ont
Posts: 858

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photograph View Post

In other news; all this activity has brought my wife's attention to the armada of machines in our basement so she has asked me to eliminate a few as we need to make space for our new family (kid's play) room.

Cheers,

Photo
Paint them to look like giant Lego's. They will fit right in
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low PPD for GPUs ADay2Long HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 November 1, 2010 07:45 PM
Low PPD for an i7... fjanicki HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 October 13, 2010 10:38 AM
NVIDIA Removes Restriction on ATI GPUs with NVIDIA GPUs Processing PhysX burebista Reviews & Articles from the Web 80 May 31, 2010 06:47 PM
Should my PPD be this low? ilya HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 4, 2010 07:57 PM
AMD Crossfire X Support For Quad-GPUs To Arrive In March vertex112 Press Releases & Tech News 18 February 9, 2008 03:46 PM