Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:27 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default Few issues with folding

So iv just set up and began folding and im noticing my 920 is getting only ~432PPD, and my 570 16000! Whats with my pisspoor CPU score, and why is it only using 25% at the most?

A separate question, can I fold in SLI? Or if now how do I get my other 570 some work?
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:32 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
So iv just set up and began folding and im noticing my 920 is getting only ~432PPD, and my 570 16000! Whats with my pisspoor CPU score, and why is it only using 25% at the most?

A separate question, can I fold in SLI? Or if now how do I get my other 570 some work?
Make sure you have the correct client for your processor; You want the multi-core SMP client under the 'high performance' downloads section Folding@home - DownloadWinOther

As to the SLI question; Yes, you can fold with both cards, just make sure they have a unique machine ID (that is different then your SMP client, and other 570) and you should have no issues.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

-local -advmethods -forceasm -smp


for tags
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:46 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Make sure you have the correct client for your processor; You want the multi-core SMP client under the 'high performance' downloads section Folding@home - DownloadWinOther

As to the SLI question; Yes, you can fold with both cards, just make sure they have a unique machine ID (that is different then your SMP client, and other 570) and you should have no issues.
How do I get each card doing a project though?

I only see one SMP, and thats the one I have, its still using only 25%.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB

Last edited by ToXic; December 12, 2010 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:55 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
How do I get each card doing a project though?
You konw, I think if you check the FAQ's and setup guides here, all of this is previously documented...You should have a view, but to help you out regardless...

Create two folders, call one (for example) GPU0 and the other GPU1

Run the GPU0 systray client, set the machineID to (example) 1

Run the GPU1 systray client, set the machineID to (example) 2

Im not sure why the SMP client is only using one of your cores...Did you set any flags to it? I assume not...Probably going to have to wait for one of the other F@H gurus to come by for that question Toxic...sorry
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 06:57 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

its also seeming to be a massive pain in the ass to make this work on my E drive, because I dont need it eating away at my SSD lifespan.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 07:03 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,451

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
its also seeming to be a massive pain in the ass to make this work on my E drive, because I dont need it eating away at my SSD lifespan.

Just cut/paste the folders where ever you want to run them. I run my off secondary drives without issues.

If you're going to fold with all three clients, you can save yourself a lot of 'beginners' grief by using FAH GPU Tracker V2

It's a lot easier to set up the flags per client, and 'fiddle' with things via the intuitive GUI, rather then flags and multiple clients in your system tray, and trying to track which is what and where and who...Plus you can very easily set it up on another drive.

Try it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 07:05 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToXic View Post
its also seeming to be a massive pain in the ass to make this work on my E drive, because I dont need it eating away at my SSD lifespan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Just cut/paste the folders where ever you want to run them. I run my off secondary drives without issues.

If you're going to fold with all three clients, you can save yourself a lot of 'beginners' grief by using FAH GPU Tracker V2

It's a lot easier to set up the flags per client, and 'fiddle' with things via the intuitive GUI, rather then flags and multiple clients in your system tray, and trying to track which is what and where and who...Plus you can very easily set it up on another drive.

Try it.
Oh thats perfect! Thanks sag.

Edit:


Cores all in use now, but its takin a wile to do 1% GPUs are at 2% already!

30k a day from my 570's Ima happy bear!
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB

Last edited by ToXic; December 12, 2010 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 07:52 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,047

My System Specs

Default

DOn't forget to post in the sticky so you can get your F@H tag as well.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Anyone Else still having Issues? Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 February 19, 2010 08:14 AM
any one having issues getting wu's? _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 February 8, 2010 09:22 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
353 Issues Soultribunal HardwareCanucks F@H Team 18 December 23, 2009 04:36 AM