Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 06:48 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Lets all chip in and get a HWC Supermicro 2026tt-h6rf loaded with 8 hexacores (96 threads, in a 2u rack height) Should only run about $20k, do a full rack of them for about $200k including UPS's. Hmm what were tonights lottomax numbers?
What kind of ppd? *strongly considers GTZ's proposal*
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 08:29 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Something I've never seen mentioned is the ability (or especially the lack of) to software overclock the Intel server boards... are there no programs out there that play nice with the chipsets?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 08:44 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Not that I know of. I contacted a while back the creator of Setfsb, asking to add the Intel 5520 chipset to the application, and he never was successful. I know that Movieman over at XS also tried with no success. Hence why the SR2 board is a revelation.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 11:11 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Hmm what were tonights lottomax numbers?
I think about scenarios like this all the time. If the office pool won last nights (or tonights, whenever it is) lotto - we'd be 4mil each.

The LAN room would be a thing of beauty.. but it would be the infrastructure that would cost the most.. solar paneling for power and geothermal setup for air conditioning.. that's 100k right there. Add in the costs for security and monitoring plus the building itself. The building would be away from the house, with its own redundant internet connections.. 4' down in the ground and single level, all concrete structure.

Oh dreams.. it would be so fun..
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 11:14 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Not that I know of. I contacted a while back the creator of Setfsb, asking to add the Intel 5520 chipset to the application, and he never was successful. I know that Movieman over at XS also tried with no success. Hence why the SR2 board is a revelation.
doesnt it rely on the frequency generator chippie thingie? if it changes from board to board it'd be pretty hard i guess. unless they all use the same


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
I think about scenarios like this all the time. If the office pool won last nights (or tonights, whenever it is) lotto - we'd be 4mil each.

The LAN room would be a thing of beauty.. but it would be the infrastructure that would cost the most.. solar paneling for power and geothermal setup for air conditioning.. that's 100k right there. Add in the costs for security and monitoring plus the building itself. The building would be away from the house, with its own redundant internet connections.. 4' down in the ground and single level, all concrete structure.

Oh dreams.. it would be so fun..

thats a pretty good indication of a folder hitting it big. hell thats the one and only indication. one of the guys i worked with hit i think a few hundred k. dude still had his old banger and still went to work, except he was big in a certain collectible item. you'd never guess the weird thing on his desk would be worth 20-25k at any decent auction.lol.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 11:16 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it is different from board to board.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 11:19 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

maybe he can do a custom jobbe? what do you have on your X8DAi?

hell if its worth your time and you save 600 bucks in another board and im not even taking the rma crap into consideration, hell drop him some change? :)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 11:24 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

He tried. Didn't work.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 11:26 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

crap. you did mention it earlier. guess it wont do much digging into it, but it didnt work because...? :)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2010, 12:43 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

What would you guys think of a Dual Quadcore (3.16ghz) with 8gb ram system tower/psu/keyb/mouse for $1k? I'm thinking of selling some non-working crap after picking up these boxes, they're dell/hp workstations any clue what a 16thread 8core machine will do for ppd on bigadv?
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input: L5639 + SR2 Discussion Rison HardwareCanucks F@H Team 52 December 1, 2010 03:02 PM
AVAdirect has the SR2 W555 ( cinfigure the way you want it ) :) :) (AVAdirect) ZZLEE Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 May 12, 2010 04:42 PM
evga sr2 classified 4-way sli motherboard gomer New Builds 1 March 29, 2010 09:19 PM
free alternatives to Photoshop? tri5cui7 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 March 29, 2010 09:19 PM