Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #781 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 06:32 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zink View Post
All the old bigadv WU's just got repackaged and are available using the a5 core as well.
Ya but are they available in big supply in Linux yet? They were almost non existent for the past few weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #782 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 06:49 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

I think the idea is that now that we're all running core a5 the WU supply for Windows and Linux are not separate anymore. The big news anyways is that the wrapper keeps each thread locked to it's CPU to prevent inefficient scheduling. It gives you near perfect scaling going from 1 to 2 CPUs .

Last edited by Zink; March 20, 2011 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #783 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 06:58 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Reading a thread about Linux is like trying to read Chinese. Just goes in one ear and out the other.

Someone really should make a n00b friendly guide to setting up a Linux folding machine.
Reply With Quote
  #784 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 03:39 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, linux bigadv work units are no longer scarce. All the windows workunits have been ported over.

Installing Linux is relatively easy. It's very similar to installing Windows for that matter.. and running the Linux client for Folding@Home is the same as the console client in windows. Instead of double clicking an icon to launch the program, you open a terminal shell (same as start > run > cmd) and run ./fah6 to execute.. all the same parameters work in Linux as Windows.
The only thing during the install process that might confuse a new user is when it comes to partitioning, in which most distributions have an "auto" feature which mounts everything properly for you anyways.
If I had time, i'd do a screenshot setup of Debian 6.. but well.. no time.

Installing the "custom kernel" is a little more tricky, but I would wager someone has done a HOWTO for that already.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #785 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 08:50 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
Installing the "custom kernel" is a little more tricky, but I would wager someone has done a HOWTO for that already.
[H]ard|Forum - View Single Post - Linux versus Windows - bigadv folding results

Edit: And then do this as well to shave off a few more seconds.

AMDZone.com • View topic - The Kraken: affinity wrapper for a3 and a5 FahCores
__________________
24 threads @ 4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #786 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 09:11 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Can this be done on a HDD that already has W7 installed?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #787 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 09:33 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Charlie, if there is free room on the drive, yeah - but Linux will overwrite your MBR, so I typically tell people to install linux on a separate hard drive the first time they install it. So if they mess up the install (it happens sometimes) or doesn't detect Win7 x64 properly (also happens) they can plug their old hdd in and continue folding without having to reinstall windows.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #788 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 09:35 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

rgr will try this tonight.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #789 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 09:35 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,089

My System Specs

Default

You can use the WUBI installer to install Ubuntu inside an existing windows partition. I'll have a go at it tonight with 10.10, I haven't done it since 9.04. It slows down the read/write performance to the HDD significantly, but shouldn't hurt TPF.
Reply With Quote
  #790 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 09:39 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

True, I forgot about that. But since I have a spare Kingston SSD, I'll set it up on that drive instead.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM