Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #771 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2011, 07:36 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 530

My System Specs

Default

My experience was somewhat similar. After folding BigAdv for at least a month I suffered a BSOD. I dialed up VCore from 1.35v to 1.35625 and this has now become my standard folding voltage.

I'm not even using 200 mhz FSB as mine will only boot up nicely at 195 maximum. Even 196 becomes a painful experience to try and stabilize. After the chimp challenge I'll take another look at trying to get things faster and see what I can get, but it's still gonna be at least 75K PPD less than my "other white meat" on p6901s.

Fold on motherfolders.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #772 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 04:18 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I guess i'll ask this question here. I was going to ask it on the EVGA forums, but i'm a 'newbie' there.. and it looks like all I do is ask questions (which, is mostly true)

I'm probably going to be switching jobs soon, and going from a nice, cushy systems admin job at a bank, to a small company doing onsite network support. Lots of perks like making my own hours, etc. Less money though.. oh well.
One perk is i'll be able to have access to an empty HP/Compaq rack, to which I get to put toys in. The buying spree will begin about day 2 when i'm there, lol.

Simple question - 4u rackmount cases + SR-2.. possible?
If everything goes to plan, i'll be able to move my SR-2, plus any other additional folding PCs to their network.. freeing up my power bill.. and amplifying my PPD to retarded levels. I'll have 50A worth of power to play with, and already searching for 230V APC UPSs locally. I've already thought about getting a second SR-2, and i'm a few months away from the job switch.

Now i'm looking for rackmount cases for the SR-2.. I can put any standard PC case on APC rails easy enough but my current MountainMods case is too wide and I don't want to put the cases vertically on a shelf, cause it'll take too much room.
I don't need much hard drive room, just two drives in the system (main OS + ghosted cold spare)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #773 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:05 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rison View Post
and amplifying my PPD to retarded levels-

I've already thought about getting a second SR-2
In time for the challenge I hope!!!!!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #774 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 05:51 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
In time for the challenge I hope!!!!!
Unfortunately not. I won't be switching jobs for another 6 weeks or so, and even then it will take some time to implement a new server farm.. i'll have to buy all the network equipment + cable management + new cases + other systems from scratch.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #775 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:31 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

I'm still alive and running my SR-2, its just being used for other purposes then folding. Up-time of over a month at the moment.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #776 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:37 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Good luck with the new job... :)
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #777 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:47 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
I'm still alive and running my SR-2, its just being used for other purposes then folding. Up-time of over a month at the moment.
I'm up to 4 days one my unstable one. That is definitely a record.
Reply With Quote
  #778 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 04:26 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

You folks should check out what is going down at the [H]. There are multiple SR2s putting out over 200kppd using Linux and a custom wrapper that makes the a5 core aware of which CPU each thread is on. The result is a huge efficiency boost, and it's all in software. The cheap Xeons at 3.6ghz get boosted to about 160kppd.
Reply With Quote
  #779 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 06:05 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Are linux bigadv WU's more common now?
Reply With Quote
  #780 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 06:27 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Are linux bigadv WU's more common now?
All the old bigadv WU's just got repackaged and are available using the a5 core as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM