Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #631 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2011, 03:03 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I tried but was getting errors. I have both Ubuntu Server and Win 7 Pro installed at the moment. Although I am just going to stay w/ Windows 7 until bigadv is back to Linux.
Wondered if the stability problems was solved in part with a different OS. Hopefully the new client will be out soon with gpu/cpu, linux and improved amd support. Either way, glad to see things are improving
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #632 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 07:11 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,249

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
stoanee, is your SR-2 not operational again? You don't seem to producing any large point units recently.
Got my SR-2 with me at work, just did a two day rig rig move last week so no production.

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
Right you are! Grinding away on a 2684 right now for a measly 72,000 ppd.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #633 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 07:16 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Grinding away on a 2684 right now for a measly 72,000 ppd.
For us mere mortals without monster SR-2s, 72k is amazing!!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #634 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 03:51 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Oooook, what a long weekend that was.

After countless hours of swearing and cutting my hands on my new case, I finally got the SR-2 together in the garage. It doesn't look pretty, but w/e.
Problem : same damn memory errors. Memtest fails and I get the Cx000005 (whatever it's called) memory errors with folding at home client. I have manually set the ram timings to 9-9-9-24 @ 1.65v, and even went to 10-10-10-28 just to see if it made a difference.. nothing. Freezes at 3%.

The ram is good, and I have 12 gigs of ADATA and 12 gigs of Gskill, and swapped them around, but both do the same things. The two 5645 xeons are good - they run in my ud3r motherboard perfectly fine.

I was originally thinking an operating system problem (win2k3 adv server) but it's a good install, and memtest runs from it's own cd on boot..

Are there any other settings I can try to stabilize this machine? I'll be running around the forums today if I have time to look for other answers, but if anyone has any advice, i'd appreciate it. :)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #635 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 07:55 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

The ram is 3x4GB sets? Have you tried just installing a single set. Try them in each CPU's DIMM slots and see if one set is the issue or not.
Reply With Quote
  #636 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 08:08 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I have two different sets of ram. One is ADATA, and is 6 sticks of 2GB DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24, and the other is GSkill, 6 sticks of 2GB modules.

I've tested all 24GB of ram in 3x2GB configurations in my Gigabyte UD3R before I had my last RMA. Same goes for the CPUs.
I'm only going to run one set of ram.. the other set that isn't put in the SR-2 is going in my main workstation or something.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #637 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 08:16 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

Just install 3 sticks in CPU0s ram slots. See if they are stable, then throw them in CPU1s slots only. If you find one set of slots is stable while the other is unstable, then swap the CPU's. See if it follows the CPU. The CPU's could be stable in a single socket board but that doesn't mean there isn't an issue with them. On a single socket board it only uses a single QPI.

I also assume you are trying to get the ram stable @ stock speeds currently?
Reply With Quote
  #638 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 08:38 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

I'll try that when I get home tonight. And yeah, everything is stock speed, CPU and ram. I have the ram set at 1333 9-9-9-24 2T @ 1.65V
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #639 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 08:44 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

I assume you have also tried lower DRAM ratios? Also try loosening the MCH strap to 1333 or 1600.
Reply With Quote
  #640 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2011, 08:50 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I tried the 1066 setting with 10-10-10-30 (or 28, can't remember)

I'll look into the MCH strap too - I never changed it before.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM