Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 11:59 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

It is like a chain reaction of SR-2

First one, then 3, then 6-7 of them coming now.

NCIX will feel our wraith!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

[H] has 21 active SR2s, all folders - spreaded amonsgt 11 members. Looks like we'll be getting close to that number too....
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:03 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

We will need a bios tweak thread.... :)
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:10 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
We will need a bios tweak thread.... :)
I don't see anything wrong w/ this thread for that. I am pretty sure almost every one of SR-2 users here will be folders as well.

EDIT: How much ram is the SMP using while bigadv'ing? My system is going to be using just 3GB per channel for the first while.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:16 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

you'll be alright, I am using 4.42 for SMP now. I'll post my bios once I get to 200 BLCK
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:26 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
It is like a chain reaction of SR-2

First one, then 3, then 6-7 of them coming now.

NCIX will feel our wraith!
Guess I'll have to get one too... then won't I... *searches for credit card*
I can mount it in the open casket used for my burial...
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:45 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

Bogg, you crack me up!

I might be heading the same direction soon
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

So how much does a pair of xeons typically go for??? Maybe if I do a full build with my current i3, in that silverstone case I can come up with the cash for the procs alone..... (I doubt it though.... ;) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:50 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
So how much does a pair of xeons typically go for??? Maybe if I do a full build with my current i3, in that silverstone case I can come up with the cash for the procs alone..... (I doubt it though.... ;) ).
You can generally grab them a pair of L5639 or E5645's from $1000-$1100 USD on eBay from what I've seen in the past few weeks. Pretty pricey still, but half of what they retail for.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 12:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Holy Cwap!!!!!! Heh... guess I'll scrap that idea then. Wayyyyy too rich for my blood. :) (Now, if somebody would come up with a way to slap 4 1090t procs onto a board I might consider it..... ;) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM