Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #331 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 12:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

I still haven't had the time to ship my boards back to eVGA. So no SR-2s for me for a long while.
Reply With Quote
  #332 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 12:21 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I went back to 200 BLCK. It failed on a 2684 at about 76 %. And I wanted to be able to play a game and fold at the same time ! So, I was lazy and went back to my most solid OC. I might be able to find some time to re-OC, but I think most of my limited PC time will be passed on the : ''lets put the Sr-2 in an umodded 700D'' project


edit : But charlie3.0 should have an OC board to talk about. he ordered is Poo HS friday. It must have been express shipped from NCIX, so he should have them since monday night.... 2 full days !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #333 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 12:25 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Gonna try shoehorning one into an ATCS 840. Haven't seen definitively somebody else doing what I have in mind, but I'm pretty sure it will work without too much trouble. As with other shoehornings, it will lose the usual bottom two slots. Will start with X5677's for the timebeing (which are actually earmarked for another box), but will eventually switch over to a pair of E5645's.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #334 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 12:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Gonna try shoehorning one into an ATCS 840. Haven't seen definitively somebody else doing what I have in mind, but I'm pretty sure it will work without too much trouble. As with other shoehornings, it will lose the usual bottom two slots. Will start with X5677's for the timebeing (which are actually earmarked for another box), but will eventually switch over to a pair of E5645's.
Wait, so you will be downgrading CPU's?
Reply With Quote
  #335 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 12:42 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

he is going to have 2 of them... wow 26 muliplier hello easy 4.0.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #336 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 12:47 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Wait, so you will be downgrading CPU's?
e5645 is hexacore
x5677 is quadcore
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #337 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 01:13 PM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Gonna try shoehorning one into an ATCS 840. Haven't seen definitively somebody else doing what I have in mind, but I'm pretty sure it will work without too much trouble. As with other shoehornings, it will lose the usual bottom two slots. Will start with X5677's for the timebeing (which are actually earmarked for another box), but will eventually switch over to a pair of E5645's.
I'm interested in this part. Basically cause I have an ATCS 840 and drooling over the SR-2s.
If only I didn't have that pesky mortgage and new baby boy on the way to worry about!
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #338 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 01:23 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Gonna try shoehorning one into an ATCS 840. Haven't seen definitively somebody else doing what I have in mind, but I'm pretty sure it will work without too much trouble. As with other shoehornings, it will lose the usual bottom two slots. Will start with X5677's for the timebeing (which are actually earmarked for another box), but will eventually switch over to a pair of E5645's.
It's about time you re-joined the PPD revolution Dead Things

I have an ATCS 840 which comfortably fit my Asus KGPE-D16 but my biggest concern with using the SR-2 in it is the mobo tray. It's narrow comparatively to the LiLi PC-P80 midget carrier

Do you have the board yet, or is it on order?
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #339 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 01:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
edit : But charlie3.0 should have an OC board to talk about. he ordered is Poo HS friday. It must have been express shipped from NCIX, so he should have them since monday night.... 2 full days !


I ordered dual Noctuas on Saturday. No movement since then, and even Ryuji (the NCIX tech. rep helping me with the SR2 "issues") doesn't understand why they haven't shipped yet. Puro Express shipping (read overnight) once they leave GVR.

And no, no other testing as of yet. I was contemplating adding a Revodrive X2 to the board, but digging some info tells me this is not a good idea to pair the PCI-e SSD with the SR2...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #340 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2010, 01:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post

And no, no other testing as of yet. I was contemplating adding a Revodrive X2 to the board, but digging some info tells me this is not a good idea to pair the PCI-e SSD with the SR2...
No real reason to grab a Revodrive over a couple of SATA SSD's anyways, unless you don't have the ports available.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM