Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 05:02 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

Just get the tpf from the last frame. I'll stop posting now before I die of envy. My boards wont be here till Wednesday.

And this is normal for me. I only sleep 4 hours a day
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 27, 2010 at 05:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 05:08 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Boards with an s, like two Sr-2 Rigs ? Lol

edit = - smp 23 + GTX 480s no fixed affinity set, just priroity to GPU
Attached Images
 
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; November 27, 2010 at 05:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 05:28 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

Ill call it a typo Its not as fun when you're not doing it yourself, so I guess I'll just have to wait
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 27, 2010 at 05:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 05:29 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I'll try with core affinity, and see, but yeah SMP only is the way to go for now.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 06:07 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,925

My System Specs

Default

Can you try with one gpu client?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 06:11 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

sure will do, has soon has I have finished trying to mess with the affinity, but for now, Bills2 wont change squat still 75 000 PPD with two GPU client
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 06:15 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,479

My System Specs

Default

I think your initial PPD estimate was a tad off. You only let it run 1% to get a PPD count, so it may not have been accurately estimating. Try pausing the GPU's, and get an accurate SMP PPD of at least 3%.

If the PPD is like 95k, then the GPU folding MIGHT be worth it (since you're showing 85k + GPUS) for a net gain...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 07:35 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

The SMP bonus is exponential; any stolen CPU cycles will have a higher ppd impact on the SMP Client, than any number of GPU Clients can add. The SR2, even though could be GPU folding Heaven with 7 PCI-e slots is actually the baddest SMP board out there.

Matt, you fixed the NUMA off BSOD?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 07:47 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

yep NUMA is OFF, needed relaxing on the Memory timings. I will have to tweak it more, but I wanted to start folding...

and the cyclle is complete, with affinity and priority, now will try 1 gpu for a couple of frame :
Attached Images
 
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; November 27, 2010 at 08:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 07:53 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Man oh man...if my ATCS or HAF could fit this thing, I might be tempted for the lower power alone.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM