Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #271 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 10:28 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

Good luck with that Lowfat. Between you and 3.0Charlie I haven't seen anyone with these horrific issues. Maybe the quality control at EVGA has plunged lately, or (hopefully) it's just a bad batch of boards. The only other person with anything close is FLECOM over at [H]ardOCP's folding team.

Sucks, but good luck with the RMA!
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #272 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2010, 11:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,943

My System Specs

Default

Tell me about it... board #3 will be on-hand this afternoon. Board #1 confirmed by evga as DOA. Board #2 testing on-going.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #273 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 02:18 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,665
Default

I had a look over your settings, everything seems good, if the B2B CAS Delay trick isn't working, and all the power connectors are connected... My guess at this point, maybe an incompatablity with your ram.
Reply With Quote
  #274 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 06:12 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

Hopefully third time is the charm. Really bad luck with the first two boards it looks like.

As Chilly says above in regards to lowfat's problem, these boards do seem very RAM sensitive.

I have mine running three 4GB G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL kits and one is split up between banks to provide the third DIMM in each, and I haven't had any problems, but a lot of guys on HardOCP are seeing some equally strange issues that almost seem to be isolated to RAM.

I know I'm running 9-9-9-24, 1T timings, but at this level and a 2:8 divider, 195BCLK is my absolute max. Once I go 196 or higher I have to go to 9-10-9-24, 1T so that I don't lose DIMMs and see 10GB, which messes things up when I turn NUMA off.

Also, there are certain RAM dividers that don't work properly on some chips. My x5650s seem to be fine with a 2:8 divider with the aforementioned RAM, but truth be told I haven't tried any other dividers. In some cases 2:6 works better than 2:8, and more rarely 2:10 works for some depending on their RAM kits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Tell me about it... board #3 will be on-hand this afternoon. Board #1 confirmed by evga as DOA. Board #2 testing on-going.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #275 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 06:23 AM
Rison's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 1,132

My System Specs

Default

What RAM would you guys recommend, as in brand. Is there certain manufacturers that seem to -not- work well?

Would two 3x1GB kits be fine for folding? or is there added performance to moving to two 3x2GB kits? (anyone tried this out?)

I'm flip flopping between doing the G34's, or going crazy with SR-2 goodness... i'm about to put a hurt on my credit cards I think. (and this changes, on an hourly basis, lol)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #276 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 05:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,000

My System Specs

Default

Received the new SR-2 and 2 sets of KVR today. Threw the KVR in first, same thing, 3 DIMM's are missing. Threw the new board in and BLAMO it seems to see all 6GB installed.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #277 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 06:00 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

wa, so another RMA... Meh. Waht cpu are you going to put on the second board ?

RISON : I am using Kingston Hyper, 12 gigs. While folding I never go over 40 % usage. So 6 gig would work ok. The kingston are regular stuff. I could find the exact sku if you wish. Lowfat is using value ram, and seems to work ok.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #278 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 06:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,000

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
wa, so another RMA... Meh. Waht cpu are you going to put on the second board ?
Depends on what is available to me. Hopefully a pair of L5639/L5640s. If eBay isn't kind to me then possibly a pair of X5650s.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #279 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 08:35 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,000

My System Specs

Default


__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #280 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 08:36 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,943

My System Specs

Default

I wanna play too...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 10:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 07:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM