Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 07:48 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Don't know if it will be the same with your set-up but my i7-930 rig needs to finish a big-adv unit before win7 gets the priorities right.

PPD was way low at first (~28k) then went back up (~36k) after completing a WU (p2685), this is with 2x 460's running the p6811 WU's.

On the gpu clients I have "Disable CPU Affinity Lock" set to Yes.

Maybe let it finish a WU and then check it again...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 07:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

2684s should net him close to / above 100k ppd.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 09:35 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

as you wish
Attached Images
 
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 09:42 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Oooh that's starting to look really nice, especially at 3.5, is that with the gpu's or without...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 09:42 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

A little nicer. Now get your grove on and maximize the OC!

If you want to run the bigadv with the GPU3 clients do a "-smp 23 -bigadv" instead (and lets hope it likes it). The P6800 has a much lower cpu usage than the other GPU3 units BUT you still need to dedicate a "core" to them if you're running 2 or more. Also, set the affinity of all gpu3 clients to a single core (this step is probably not needed). This way they won't contend with each other.

Thanks for the info Matt.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 26, 2010 at 09:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2010, 09:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Very nice. I'd would also like to see how bad your GPU clients hurt your SMP PPD.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 04:12 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

with the GPU :- smp 24, pririoty manager on :
Attached Images
 
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 04:33 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

That's no good Matt, you didnt gain anything. How about -smp 23? :) Thanks!
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 04:49 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

As everyone else said, drop the GPUs in the SR2 box. It's a waste of power.
Same thing happens to me, no matter what I try with my 980x and GTX 480SC - the GPU eats up so many cycles from the bigadv, it drops the SMP PPD considerably.
Also, post your system.. CPUs / RAM for others. :)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2010, 04:54 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Xeven, it is either really early for you or really late... I tought I was early for posting....

I am currently running at smp 23, but not better. SMP folding it will be I think.

system specs :

L5639 XEON X 2 @ 3.5 (BLCK 195)
SR2 - NUMA OFF
Kingston 1600 - (I tweaked the timings, will post later)
HDD : WD black
GTX 480 X 2
(all watercooled, but If I did not already had the gear, I would go air, it is enough for this kind of BLCK)
Missed something ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM