Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 04:58 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Your good, I would not be able to wait....

here is some picutre of my Cardbox rack SR-2 and of the GPUs :
Attached Images
     
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 05:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nice. try to find a hard non flammable surface if possible till you get it in a case of sorts.
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 05:10 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,044

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
Your good, I would not be able to wait....

here is some picutre of my Cardbox rack SR-2 and of the GPUs :
No point in taking the Xeon brackets off, if I would just need to put them back on tomorrow anyways.

Any plans on getting/building a case to fit your SR2 in?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2010, 05:20 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

I got a 700D brand new in a box in my man cave, but I would like to find a way to fit more rads before doing anything......

Maybe an external in the back would be a possibility,

Edit : I also started experiencing with higher BLCK, I posted at 208, but the Rig is really sluggish, foir a lack of a better word.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; December 1, 2010 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 02:06 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

now I see why you were so adamant to get your GPUs folding.. you have them watercooled on the SR-2 rig~!.

I unfortunately learned this a few months back.. I think I only posted on ncix about it though - I have a 480sc oc'd + 980x in my main workstation, and when I ran my GPU, the CPU cycles would suffer in bigadv.. pretty much the exact number my GPUs were folding (16,500PPD) so I stopped folding on my GPU all together.

It's cool ya watercooled the SR-2, but i'd be looking for a permanent home for the watercooling gear. I would be worried about the pump moving / falling, etc. It took me a few setups to get my watercooled right to the most efficient, shorter runs = better performance.

Looks good tho! Fold on.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:11 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Hey fellow Sr-2 owners,

I played around yesterday with BLCK over 200. I posted up to 208 without much voltage tweak, but the reponse from my USB mouse/keayboard, getting into window and my network controller were ridiculously slow. For example, I started LFD2 and the voice of Nick in the initial intro was sloooowwww. Like a word every 2 or 3 seconds...

No mater how much more V-core I added, nothing changed. I might have tried more VTT... I finally tested back down to 203 one BLCK at the time, and no problem. Anything at 204 and over, the slowness/unresponsiveness returns.

Do you think this means I have come to my BLCK end of the board, or some more tweaking could solve the problem ? Any suggestions ?

If you wish I could post pictures of my bios tonight.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:43 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,544

My System Specs

Default

This is fairly normal from what Ive read about SR2's. They dont do much above 200BCLK, if any thing. Most cap out in the high 190's actually, so you should count yourself lucky :)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 06:58 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Yeah I was expecting this, but was wondering if there was any tweak I could do to get a couple more BLCK points !

My reading of shamino / H forum thread has not given me an answer.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 07:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,055

My System Specs

Default

SR2 builds are making me .
Though I think I'm going to wait until the chips get cheaper before hopping onboard the six-core train.

The list of cases that fit this beast is so small!
EVGA Classified SR-2 Compatible Chassis
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2010, 07:24 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

These are the cases with 10 PCI slot so you will have access to all the PCI-E slot. If you dont need/want acces to all the PCI-E slot, then you can use a lot of cases. Sadly none are really cheap....But I guess if you go for a SR-2 build, budget was not really an issue.

The case I Like are the 700D or 800D. Or like Xeven is doing. There is pictures in the other Sr-2 thread.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; December 2, 2010 at 07:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
folding@home thread. Updated as necessary - _dangtx_ _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 628 June 25, 2010 08:48 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
Shayan's New To Folding Thread shayan288 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 58 September 6, 2009 03:03 PM