Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:54 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,115

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeven View Post
Anyone of you SR-2 guys plan on putting it inside a chassis? Just asking because I couldn't leave it on a bench top if it was me (because of my kid) and I can't seem to find any (inexpensive) chassis that will fit this fat boy.
There isn't any inexpensive cases, which is a problem. If you are good at case modifications you could buy a moutain mods motherboard tray and possibly modify an existing case.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:43 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

there is a guy on Ncix forum who installed it into a 700D. So Xeven, you ordered one ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,115

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
there is a guy on Ncix forum who installed it into a 700D. So Xeven, you ordered one ?
They sell premodded 700Ds @ Performance-PC's but at a rediculous price. Xeven better not buy one, or else I'll need to find another way to crank out the PPD.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:10 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

humm how much is PP ? 150 $ ? I wonder if it would not be worth it...
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 01:10 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 491
Default

Alright, I got a few of these L5639s. I don't have an SR-2 so I loaded one into Nina. A few simple changes and got it running at ~4.0Ghz/1.30V. CoreTemp report values of 59-69C when running LinX and reports a TJMax of 79C. I'll do prime testing tonight and hopefully I'll be able to do voltage/performance tweaking tomorrow. The core multiplier is limited to x18 and I'm currently running a BCLK of 221 (board craps out at 228).

Running a P2684 to check TPF and temps are reported as 51-60C.

Well, what can I say. As a single board setup, it's a 980X at half the price but limited to x18. I just hope it doesn't crap out anytime soon

I can't find an actual datasheet for this thing but it has a namesake L5638 and hopefully they share a lot more that just similar names.

Now, what to do with the rest...

__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 18, 2010 at 02:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 01:40 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

someone correct me but 4 gigs out of those is baddass? :)

may it fold you well,sir!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 06:36 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Good news ! humm, 18 muliplier at 200 BLCK wich seems to be about the SR2 limit , 3.6. Is 18 turbo ebnabled ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 09:29 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,115

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
Good news ! humm, 18 muliplier at 200 BLCK wich seems to be about the SR2 limit , 3.6. Is 18 turbo ebnabled ?
18 would be turbo enabled I do believe.

So what kind of PPD is one of these churning out?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 10:58 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 491
Default

@dangtx

It's a little badass maybe and no "sirs" please.

@matsta31/lowfat

Yeah x18 is with Turbo. It's still running prime95, but I tried -smp 10 last night with 3xgpu3 clients running P6800 and it was ~30K PPD on a P2684. I only have P2684s on both machines at the moment so I can't test any other WUs. I'm hoping to move to an x6bigadv+2xgpu3 setup, my current setup of x4bigadv+4xgpu3 is just too much of a power hog with the P6800s PITAs. So hopefully I'll get better PPD/watt with similar PPD output.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 18, 2010 at 12:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 11:15 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,115

My System Specs

Default

What motherboard are you using?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unregister option mrScott Suggestions & Feedback 31 May 1, 2010 11:44 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 06:37 PM
Which sound option is best? Justin Cider Audio 5 July 13, 2009 01:41 AM
Whats my best option trayton Video Cards 5 December 27, 2008 11:22 PM
No SLI option tzetsin Troubleshooting 20 August 24, 2008 07:38 PM