Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 11:54 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeven View Post
Anyone of you SR-2 guys plan on putting it inside a chassis? Just asking because I couldn't leave it on a bench top if it was me (because of my kid) and I can't seem to find any (inexpensive) chassis that will fit this fat boy.
There isn't any inexpensive cases, which is a problem. If you are good at case modifications you could buy a moutain mods motherboard tray and possibly modify an existing case.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:43 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

there is a guy on Ncix forum who installed it into a 700D. So Xeven, you ordered one ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 12:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
there is a guy on Ncix forum who installed it into a 700D. So Xeven, you ordered one ?
They sell premodded 700Ds @ Performance-PC's but at a rediculous price. Xeven better not buy one, or else I'll need to find another way to crank out the PPD.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 01:10 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

humm how much is PP ? 150 $ ? I wonder if it would not be worth it...
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 12:10 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

Alright, I got a few of these L5639s. I don't have an SR-2 so I loaded one into Nina. A few simple changes and got it running at ~4.0Ghz/1.30V. CoreTemp report values of 59-69C when running LinX and reports a TJMax of 79C. I'll do prime testing tonight and hopefully I'll be able to do voltage/performance tweaking tomorrow. The core multiplier is limited to x18 and I'm currently running a BCLK of 221 (board craps out at 228).

Running a P2684 to check TPF and temps are reported as 51-60C.

Well, what can I say. As a single board setup, it's a 980X at half the price but limited to x18. I just hope it doesn't crap out anytime soon

I can't find an actual datasheet for this thing but it has a namesake L5638 and hopefully they share a lot more that just similar names.

Now, what to do with the rest...

__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 18, 2010 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 12:40 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

someone correct me but 4 gigs out of those is baddass? :)

may it fold you well,sir!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 05:36 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Good news ! humm, 18 muliplier at 200 BLCK wich seems to be about the SR2 limit , 3.6. Is 18 turbo ebnabled ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 08:29 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
Good news ! humm, 18 muliplier at 200 BLCK wich seems to be about the SR2 limit , 3.6. Is 18 turbo ebnabled ?
18 would be turbo enabled I do believe.

So what kind of PPD is one of these churning out?
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 09:58 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 483
Default

@dangtx

It's a little badass maybe and no "sirs" please.

@matsta31/lowfat

Yeah x18 is with Turbo. It's still running prime95, but I tried -smp 10 last night with 3xgpu3 clients running P6800 and it was ~30K PPD on a P2684. I only have P2684s on both machines at the moment so I can't test any other WUs. I'm hoping to move to an x6bigadv+2xgpu3 setup, my current setup of x4bigadv+4xgpu3 is just too much of a power hog with the P6800s PITAs. So hopefully I'll get better PPD/watt with similar PPD output.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 18, 2010 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2010, 10:15 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

What motherboard are you using?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unregister option mrScott Suggestions & Feedback 31 May 1, 2010 10:44 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 05:37 PM
Which sound option is best? Justin Cider Audio 5 July 13, 2009 12:41 AM
Whats my best option trayton Video Cards 5 December 27, 2008 10:22 PM
No SLI option tzetsin Troubleshooting 20 August 24, 2008 06:38 PM