Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 07:56 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

on H forum, this is the info :

L5640 - 17x base multiplier + 2x turbo
L5640 ES - 17x base multiplier + 1x turbo
L5639 - 16x base multiplier + 2x turbo

So a real L5640 has a 19x max multiplier and these only have a 18x. The ES versions of the L5640 that many of us have only have an 18x max multiplier as well.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 08:03 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Would these 6-core Xeon's work on a typical 1366 mobo? Does not list them on Asus' site for my boards.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 08:14 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

guys check out the 1155k cpu oc by that wind guy. things will get interesting, and perhaps these pricey 6 core xeons might not be as great bang per buck in a few months? :)
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 08:34 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Would these 6-core Xeon's work on a typical 1366 mobo? Does not list them on Asus' site for my boards.
It depends on the board. You would have to look into it closer for your specific board. I know some require hardware modifications.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
guys check out the 1155k cpu oc by that wind guy. things will get interesting, and perhaps these pricey 6 core xeons might not be as great bang per buck in a few months? :)
Except they are only quad cores and one socket. It might be a good platform but we are a year away from 6 core sandy bridge CPU's.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 08:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yup. now, what this means is that better clocks,well at least with k series cpu, may be expected thus getting more ppd out a box.

im figuring the offset for the more expensive cpu would be a good board but on the cheap. but then dozer should be out as well, interesting it will get :p
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 08:46 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
It depends on the board. You would have to look into it closer for your specific board. I know some require hardware modifications.
Thanks. A quick google search shows this thread over at [H]:
L5640 "special" - confirmed motherboard compatibility thread - [H]ard|Forum

A list of 1366 boards running Xeons. The Asus P6T series seems OK (which I have now). I am thinking of the Rampage III Formula, and a 6 core cpu for it later on would be nice.

An L5639 Xeon for $500 does not seem too bad, depending on how it would clock.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 09:07 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

This is starting to remind me of the Cold War. I just get caught up building nukes and you guys are building BIGGER nukes........................
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 11:00 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
This is starting to remind me of the Cold War. I just get caught up building nukes and you guys are building BIGGER nukes........................
Time to upgrade again.


Either way if a couple of us get a couple of 12 core SR-2 systems up and operational it should bring us significantly closer to what the PPD NCIX pulls.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 11:17 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Time to upgrade again.


Either way if a couple of us get a couple of 12 core SR-2 systems up and operational it should bring us significantly closer to what the PPD NCIX pulls.
basically gearing up to take down the godfather? :D
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 11:19 AM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
This is starting to remind me of the Cold War. I just get caught up building nukes and you guys are building BIGGER nukes........................
Tell me about it. I just got my twins almost fully up and running and my *ss is just about to get whooped by these SR-2's (aside from boggtrotter59 and charloz24 that is) It's competition that drives the numbers up, so in the end it's all good.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 15, 2010 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unregister option mrScott Suggestions & Feedback 31 May 1, 2010 10:44 PM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 05:37 PM
Which sound option is best? Justin Cider Audio 5 July 13, 2009 12:41 AM
Whats my best option trayton Video Cards 5 December 27, 2008 10:22 PM
No SLI option tzetsin Troubleshooting 20 August 24, 2008 06:38 PM