Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 06:04 PM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Good news that they're replacing the cards with new stock. What model was the 580? It wasn't a twin frozr by any chance? I had issues with my 560ti (standard) twin frozr fans (two cards, both failed twice, so 4 failures total), although I give MSI kudos for quick and painless RMA on them.
The card I had was a Gigabyte GTX580 Super Overclock, I actually have another same card still purring along just fine in another case. It had the 3 fans on top of card exposed, and took up 2 slots. Not too noisey when at 100%, as compared to the 570HD.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 11:53 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

Crosses fingers, toes and......
Loading windows now.


If it works you ain't gonna believe what happened.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 04:04 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

And..?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 04:36 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Crosses fingers, toes and......
Loading windows now.


If it works you ain't gonna believe what happened.
And then??? wait does this maybe mean you will have the worlds best fs section soon:P. what did you do!!!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 04:52 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

Part #1-when setting up Sabertooth & R4E mobo the first thing that happens when you post & enter bios is you get a cpu fan warning. In my case this is because the NH-D14 fans initially turn at 300-400 rpm and the fan monitors on these mobos are set by default to warn at anything below 500 rpm. Once into bios you set the warning threshold to 200 rpm & below and carry on.

Part #2-unknown to me the DVI on my had monitor cratered. When that happened I had no image on monitor but it would say "no input signal" or something to that effect on the monitor, leading me to thinking the monitor was still working properly. I did try a different dvi monitor cable but I did not try it on the vga plug. Thinking that the problem is elsewhere I, among other things, cleared cmos. This sets all bios back to default including...........fan alarms. So I reboot again, no picture on monitor and now have a beep code!

Tried RMA'd 3939K on R4E and it worked until about the 5th reboot with the same results as the Sabertooth! Aargh!

Part #3-admitting defeat I took all down to MemX for testing and their results were....your video card is flakey, all else is good. Hmmm, I did have a used backup card I was testing with, maybe it was bad. So grab my parts,a brandy new GTX 550Ti and out the door I go. Once home I assemble Sabertooth+3930K+XFX 1000+GTX550Ti & fire it up. No freaking way, a no signal message on monitor and the beep code is back! Sitting there I start thinking, what has NOT been changed here, the NH-D14 and the monitor. I grab a vga cable and hook it up to the vga plugs on gpu and monitor and..... I have a bios picture!!!

Turns out the beep code is the fan warning but I could not see it because my monitor is kaput! Over and over again I swapped components and got the same damn message on the monitor with the same damn beep code!! The boot device led was always on as well......

Part #4-drive into Red Deer frantically looking for a decent monitor and the last place I look (Staples) actually has a half-way decent monitor on sale. Go home, set it up, cross fingers toes etc and....everything fires up again.

Good grief, what a frikken run around.....


Ps, remember the part in the movie Office Space when they hang a licking on the copying machine? That monitor is about to suffer the same fate.....
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; October 18, 2012 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 05:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

I start the bidding on the Sabertooth at 50$.

Shipped, please.

__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 05:05 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I start the bidding on the Sabertooth at 50$.

Shipped, please.

I'm not selling anything until it is all back in the case and working...............
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2012, 05:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear it's working, and yeah it bites when the fault is completely removed from what it looks like.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 01:44 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Good to see you are back up and operational again mate. I would keep 3.0 away from your hardware though :P


Maybe you can help me with mine afterwards :P

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2012, 10:58 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Man , you had a hard road on yer 3930k.....I only killed my mobo once , your rig never worked.

Glad you are moving forward !!

---------

I start the bidding on that monitor at 25$.

I can give it a good death , and I'll film it too !

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HCF folding members please post here for intro and tag requests! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1016 March 10, 2014 03:07 PM
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
No more folding Ogdin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 11, 2010 07:16 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
The Folding must go on! Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 November 29, 2009 09:48 AM