Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 09:44 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

There is a broken pci-e retention clip , and a broken usb header (just one side of the plastic).I'm pretty sure I broke it when I was trying to get connectors into it with a video card in the last slot.

I admit , it's quite possible my attempt to use this header is the direct cause of the failure.I had to custom make a connector to make it work....

....I bought that damn motherboard specifically to do a 1-4-7 tri-SLI....and when I got it I find that all the connectors on the mobo are inaccessable when a card is in the last slot.

So while I'm willing to admit it's possibly my fault , I feel like a victim of false advertising all the same.It wouldnt be broken if it did'nt have that issue.

-----

Not sure what I'm going to do......I'm going to email asus and plead my case and beg for mercy.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 10:22 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,289

My System Specs

Default

YGPM Brain I can help you get a replacement board, your not the first to have that clip break then the board die 2 others on here have had that issue and I got them replacements
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 01:48 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

That's awesome !..Thanks a lot.

First thing I'll do is shoot yah a couple pics ..I'm just at work , but when I'm done I'll PM yah.

Thanks again !

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 02:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,397

My System Specs

Default

No casualties so far, and the 2P folder just got a PSU upgrade finally
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 03:30 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

I'm getting to post more here !!

So my Q9450 cpu is toast too......looks like it died with the mobo.

----

GG pornstar'ing my rigs....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 04:25 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I've also had a steady stream of hardware failures in the last 6 months... 4-5 mobo's, one X3210 quad, 2 videocards and a power supply... kinda put a damper on my enthusiasm for folding. Most of the boards were s775 so I guess it was time to upgrade anyway. Too hot for me to fold this summer as we don't have air conditioning but I'll be back as soon as it cools off.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2012, 07:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggtrotter59 View Post
4-5 mobo's, one X3210 quad, 2 videocards and a power supply...
Have you looked into a UPS with line conditioning? As you mentioned that's abnormal unless you're running a whole rack full of computers overclocked to the point they're barely stable with insufficient cooling...
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 08:57 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
Have you looked into a UPS with line conditioning? As you mentioned that's abnormal unless you're running a whole rack full of computers overclocked to the point they're barely stable with insufficient cooling...
Not really... machines are scattered all over the house so I'd have to buy several... Probably just bad luck
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 02:06 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

It's my pleasure to burn shit to the ground for folding.Only D.C. people actually use thier machines......everyone else is just playin.



I just got an IBM bladecenter....16 er so procs werking .....I want to try and light that sucker on fire with folding.....just gotta find the right 208v power and a home where constant noise isnt an issue.I think I have it too....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 02:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Hehehe.... damn dude!!!!!

As far as folding casualties goes... I've been pretty lucky so far (knock on wood).... my GTX 280 was a folding casualty (X2 because it came back once after a "bake", and then died again a few months later), and the fans on my 560ti twin frozr II cards (total 4 RMAs) really didn't enjoy running 100% 24/7.

Other than that.... haven't had any mainboard/cpu/mem failures, but I suppose the burn-through on the 12V motherboard connection on my 750W PC P&C Silencer would be considered a casualty even if it was still working afterwards.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HCF folding members please post here for intro and tag requests! pscout HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1016 March 10, 2014 03:07 PM
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 09:54 AM
No more folding Ogdin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 March 11, 2010 07:16 PM
folding on 3 core / core free for gpu folding phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 January 11, 2010 06:07 PM
The Folding must go on! Kilauea HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 November 29, 2009 09:48 AM