Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 04:04 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default How do I pause the smp client ?

I need to game for a little while.... How do I pause the smp ?

I am using the Windows client.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 04:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

Hit the "x" and close the program, it should save your work properly.

If you're still having issues, change the checkpoint from 15 min to 5 min or something like that.

If you want gaming autopause, check out GPU Tracker2. There's a post from jedi95 about it on the forums.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 04:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

maybe things have changed, but i got more issues when closing it than rebooting via windows. either way i only do it only if its at the beginning of the wu. too bad we cant have a nice pause function.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 04:44 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
Hit the "x" and close the program, it should save your work properly.

If you're still having issues, change the checkpoint from 15 min to 5 min or something like that.

If you want gaming autopause, check out GPU Tracker2. There's a post from jedi95 about it on the forums.
+1.

Sometimes you can lose the data since the last checkpoint, so you can lower the checkpoint to avoid this.

I have not tried Tracker.

Just might be a feature we will see in v7 of the client, coming out shortly.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 05:55 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post

Just might be a feature we will see in v7 of the client, coming out shortly.
O man would I love a system tray SMP client. Or even better a centralized folding@home app that controls everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 06:06 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

ahh ok so no pause, if I want to stop it for gaming by clicking X, I go to the last checkpoint. I'll try the 5 minutes checkpoint thing then.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 06:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

wouldnt decreasing the 30 min thingie work against ppd? i mean if it does something else every 5 mins...hmmm
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 06:19 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Lol exactly what I was thinking.....
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 06:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
O man would I love a system tray SMP client. Or even better a centralized folding@home app that controls everything.
Careful or you'll get Dan doing his LotR "one client to control them all" impression..... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2010, 06:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

too late. :D


you guys are quite on the positive side tonight, leastest beoching ive seen in here in a long while. ya drunken fools! :p im out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with SMP Client Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 29, 2010 08:43 PM
SMP client help phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 April 24, 2009 09:34 PM
Goodbye SMP client ! BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 November 2, 2008 04:17 PM
SMP client errored BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 October 9, 2008 05:50 PM
Hlpwith SMP client magictorch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 April 7, 2008 07:50 PM