Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 07:53 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default What's your 460 PPD?

I have my 460 folding right now at stock and it's not even near the 5000 PPD mark ... seems awfully low.

It's folding with my CPU who's begging for bigadvs.

What can I do to fix this to make sure my GPU fold to it's full potential, which I'm guessing I could get at least 8000 PPD out of it.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:18 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 491
Default

I get roughtly 13.5K on adv units and 9.5-10K on standard ones. I use evga GTX 460 1GB SC (both EE and reference) at the default core of 763Mhz. If you pause the bigadv unit, does the PPD go up in HFM? Are you also using the GPU3 client?
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:31 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default

I think your CPU is eating GPU client time.

Go in to your config menu under the sys tray, and hit advanced -> Core Priority, and set it to High.

I'll put money down your PPD on your clients goes up, and your SMP goes down. Once set properly to feed the GPU, the 9xx units eat A LOT of CPU time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:37 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

SMP client finished and I stopped it, TPF for the 460 started going up ...

I'm looking at the Folding forums right now and I've been having a lot of P10632 and it seems to be a horribly bad WU right now, maybe thats why my numbers are so low.

Btw I run the console version ... so in Task Manager to set priority as High for my GPU client?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:50 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

I use Prifinity to set the priorities of my cores.

Its not the clients you need to worry about, but the cores which actually do the folding (console and tray clients simply help aid the setup and running of the cores).

You need to look for the "fahcore_xx.exe" processes and make those high, and set the other 'core' processes you see to a level just below that.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 08:51 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default



Man turns out there was a systray version running at the same time as my console ... so the same card was trying to fold 2 proteins at the same time, doubling the TPF ... and the systray version was folding for anonymous.....

Back to ~9500 PPD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 09:12 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,117

My System Specs

Default

11.7k - 16.5k depending on the WU.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 09:35 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Stock or OCed?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2010, 09:48 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,117

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADay2Long View Post
Stock or OCed?
Overclocked to 950/2000.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 05:24 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

12,000+
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] WTT: Ref 460 for MSI 460 - Modded Stacker, Blackberry, H50 mattlef Buy/Sell & Trade 36 September 13, 2010 03:54 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 11:01 AM
Crazy GPU PPD, Crap CPU PPD, help please Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 July 31, 2009 06:37 PM
where'd all my PPD go? Gamashinoch HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 September 5, 2007 05:03 PM