Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 03:16 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default To those who fold on Windows Server...

Hopefully some other people here fold on various versions of Windows Server.

What I'm wondering, is it possible to have F@H run under a different user, and still let me RDP into another account without killing F@H?

I know if it's running under my account, it gets axed as the video card basically becomes disconnected, but I'm wondering if it would stay alive under a different user account...

Granted using VNC solves it as well, but RDP seems to perform a bit better.

Also Console vs Systray client, I'm down with either. Whatever can make this work happily.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 03:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

first of all, console all the way if you can.

secondly, from what i remember, as long as the client starts automatically with the user that first logs in? then you can switch and be fine. but thats on cpu, dont remember on gpu. you may have to force it active, or such. gl bud
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 04:07 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

I am pretty sure you can get F@H to run as a service. Wouldn't this solve the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 06:03 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I am pretty sure you can get F@H to run as a service. Wouldn't this solve the problem?
Not sure... guess I could try though.

Problem I noticed is that when you log in via RDP, it changes to some RDP Chained graphics adapter of sorts, and the actual GPU disappears from Device Manager.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 06:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I can't tell you anything for certain, but based on the nature of the problem, I don't think running the client under a different user account will prevent the core from crashing when you log in via RDP.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 06:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

It actually seems to work!

So I logged in locally as a normal user, installed F@H (had to do Run As Admin of course though), and then launched it. Started folding away even though I had my RDP session open to my Admin account on my desktop still :)

Shared the Folding@Home AppData folder, installed HFM.NET on my desktop, and voila! Still folding away

Only issue will be if my server shuts down or restarts. I'll have to manually launch F@H so I'll loose out on some points in the downtime.

Last edited by JD; October 5, 2010 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2010, 08:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

looking good :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 10:10 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Well it only did one WU last night (the first one). The rest all error'd out with UNSTABLE_MACHINE....

Not sure why. Trying again though to see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:44 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

Still does it :( After one WU all goes to hell...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 05:24 AM
Windows Server 2008, as my main OS. decivox O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 March 3, 2009 07:15 AM
windows home server problem............ rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 February 22, 2009 07:23 AM
WIndows Home Server Oddity............ rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 4, 2009 04:42 PM
Windows Home Server opinion plz............. rob123 Networking 20 November 21, 2008 08:16 AM