Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 11:25 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 57
Default How to change assigned WU?

As of right now I have completed 32 WU all of which have been the Fermi assigned P10632. After a little reading it was suggested I add flags to my client in order to get the client to request different WU(which yeild higher points) be sent to me that tend to give out higher Points.

I then added "-advmethods" into my clients config in the "additional client parameters" section. Restarted my Client and still I am stuck with the same P10632 WU.

Any suggestions for me that may help figure out this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 11:47 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,091

My System Specs

Default

It will finish the current WU it's working on, then download an -advmethods WU if there are any available. I don't recommend deleting the work directory, as you will lose whatever work you've already done on the current WU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 11:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

It might be a while before you pull a -advmethods WU. The servers have been handing out "normal" ones for the last day or so, so don't be discouraged when you're still pulling the same series of WUs, sooner or later there will be another batch of the higher PPD ones.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 12:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

-advmethods units come and go. Stanford releases them to the public as a sort of non-beta beta test, and after that is done they either pull the units (temporarily or sometimes permanently) or they release them to the general public. Right now the high-PPD Fermi projects are no longer available through -advmethods or otherwise, so we're stuck with the standard units. There is no guarantee that we will ever see those units again, so if I were you I wouldn't bet anything one way or another.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 03:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The high-PPD units are being assigned again. I'm not sure if they are still exclusive to -advmethods or if they have been released to the general public.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 04:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

Cool... I'll have to see if I pull one, and what effect running the card on a 4.11G i3 530 rig has when compared to running it on my 1090t.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 04:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I've noticed that the SMP client running on my Q9550 takes much less of a PPD hit with my 460 in that system running -advmethods compared to what was happening to my 920 running bigadv when I had the card in this machine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 04:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, hopefully I'll see within the next half hour.... not only am I due for a GPU3 WU in about 5 minutes... the i3 just pulled a 6701 which I suspect will drop PPD on that to around 5K with a "normal" GPU3 WU. If I can still pull 14 - 15K PPD out of one of the -advmethods (or possibly more because of the slightly higher CPU clock) but still put out 4K on the SMP, that'd be awsome!!!! ;)

edit: Yep... pulled a 912 pointer on the GTS450... now it's just a matter of letting some numbers come in. I suspect around 12+ minutes for the 6701 but it has yet to post the first percentage of the unit.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Phase Change chibi_man Buy/Sell & Trade 6 March 3, 2010 01:58 PM
Should I change my cooler? Lamb Air Cooling 12 January 8, 2010 02:22 AM
Name change? Evylldemon Off Topic 2 November 22, 2009 03:32 PM
I think i need a case change? dinmaster Cases 23 September 18, 2009 07:49 AM
Career Change Prof. Dr. Silver Off Topic 20 January 19, 2008 10:21 AM